We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
Ranked #33 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2012

A beautiful setting and wonderful room - the Sun Bird. We were made very welcome by the owner and her collie dog, Bill. Lovely views over the lagoon and only a short walk into the village where there are good restaurants and bars. They could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Our room was amazing - huge and delightfully furnished. We will be returning and will stay for longer next time.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the little extra for the Sun Bird in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manorfarmnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

We were given the address of Waterside Lodge by the local travel bureau in Wilderness together with a choice of others which were more expensivef and didn't look as nice.
We were certainly not disappointed.
Nora greeted us with friendliness and enthusiasm and we had a choice of a number of rooms, all of which were exccellent, but we chose one with a verandah immediately outside our door, and next to the swimming pool; reallyit was the first among equals, but as i wasn't feeling too good on that day, there wasn't too much effort involved in doing anything at all!
Both Nora and Bert were generous with their time, once Bert was able to pull himself away from creating the most wonderfully complex jigsaws which adorn the walls of the immaculately clean house.
Breakfast was delightful and plentiful and served whenever we requested it.
We really do recommend heartily, the Waterside Lodge and suggest that to save time, money and effort, you look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryJohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Upon our arrival we received a free upgrade for the honeymoon lodge. The owner, a lovely Belgian woman, just checked us in the very big lodge with a huge bathroom and served us two cold beers on our porch. We settled in easily and enjoyed the service and hospitality. She arranged dinner at Serendepity for us which is a great place to go and eat in Wilderness. The guesthouse and especially the Honeymoon Lodge is beautifully decorated. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

do not rush by this b&b otherwise you will miss a warm greating from Nora & Bert,and forgo a chance to wind down in a quiet backwater (literally) and some interesting walks which is a haven for bird lovers.
Nora does a wonderful breakfast to start your day and for the evening there are a good mix of eating places within close proximity
Our second stay was just as good and 3 nights are easy to fill.
enjoy.
nick and ros u.k

Room Tip: try the weaver room for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay in Wilderness.
It is quiet with a lovely lagoon to the front and only a 10 minute walk to the restaurants and shops in the village.
Our room was a delight to stay in.
With it's high thatched roof and well appointed furnishings we felt pampered.
We had a double balcony with great views and frequent sightings of multi coloured birds.
We had a lovely pool to cool off in the heat of the day.
Nora you made us very welcome and thank you for all those glasses of wine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Run by a wonderfully welcoming couple, this B&B is immaculately clean and a great base in the area. Our room was spacious with a balcony and the breakfast was impressive.
We found the owners extremely helpful - they even packed us a lunch when we had to leave early for our next drive. There was so much demand for accommodation at the time that they'd given up their room to a couple desperately in need of a place to stay and were sleeping on the sofa! that is really going the extra mile!
The B&B's view over the lagoon is nice although set off a little way from the beach. I'd definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stopped in Wilderness for one night on our way along the Garden Route at the end of January and after looking at a number of other places we decided to stay at the Waterside Lodge... To say that we had a brilliant time would be an under statement!

We were kicking ourselves for only booking one night at this B&B and were considering phoning ahead to say that we had car trouble!! We decided to spoil ourselves and stay in their honeymoon suite which is absolutely breathtaking in the flesh! The photos on the internet do not do it justice!!

The owners are absolutely lovely people and we had a lot of fun fussing their Collie Bill!! We instantly felt at home and were very well looked after in the short time that we stayed there!!

Next time we will be staying for more than one night in Wilderness and will not hesitate to stay at the Wilderness Lodge!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickyo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 59 in Wilderness
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#3 of 40 in Wilderness
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#28 of 59 in Wilderness
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 59 in Wilderness
775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness

Address: 377 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $74 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of a leafy mountain forest and overlooking the Wilderness Lagoon, Waterside Lodge B&B welcomes its visitors to stylish, comfortable and well appointed rooms, each having a private entrance, en-suite bath room and wooden veranda or patio - all with in walking distance of the golden beach, the lagoon and the charming Wilderness Village with it’s variety of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing