We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
Ranked #44 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2011

From the moment we arrived at Whale's Way we were made to feel very welcome and special by the host Denise. Nothing was too much trouble and Denise went out of her way to accomodate anything we wanted. Breakfast was amazing with a variety of different choices which Denise added her personal creativity to. We stayed in the Ocean suite which was even better than the pictures and again Denise added some lovely personal touches that reflect how thoughtful she is and mindful that you have the best time possible. The views from the room were fantastic and we were recommended a lovely restaurant nearby at Serendipity which offers a unique dining experience. We would highly recommend this very special place to anyone travelling the Garden Route as we were - the initial impression when we were shown to our room was jaw-dropping. We look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomatez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 95 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

“Fantastic hospitality, Great breakfast, Spectacular views, and ease of access to explore the Garden route.” The picture's speak for themselves.

What an AMAZING place for our 11th anniversary and honeymoon at the same time.

When we arrived at Whales Way, the views are breathtaking and just like a dream. The touch of African wood statues all over really makes you feel a part of the wilderness at the sea.

We woke up to the sound of the waves, before going downstairs for breakfast. In the mornings we were greeted with an amazing smell of brewed coffee & a set out breakfast with a variety of great food on the veranda below, where you over look the sea and enjoy the breakfast, planning your day ahead.

We chose the luxury of the penthouse suite for our stay, with an awesome view & been able to soak in the Jacuzzi bath after a day of sightseeing is unforgettable. The rooms have such a calming to them, you forget about the outside world. Experiencing this, we never wanted our stay to end.

Thank you Whales Way for such an amazing time, and will see you soon.

Tommy van Staden – Cape Town

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0ms0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

One of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at! The room was awesome. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was amazing - Mies put so much effort into the detail, variation and wow factor. We were sad to leave and its a pity that the owners are selling the B&B, as they seem to have the recipe for successful BnB down to the T.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Does exactly what it says on the box. Perfect match on price and quality. Really enjoyed it.
They are selling the place at the moment so dont know what the new owners will be like but the current owners are fantastic and really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDvanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The owners were very friendly and made us feel at home. As mentioned the breakfast was delicious, plentiful and had lots of variety, well well worth it for the breakfast alone! Everything else was also well thought out and we realize now how smooth our 2 night stay went because of this thoughtfulness and practicality. Beautiful location with a stunning view of the ocean on all levels. Close to the highway, parking, common area in the home, knowledgable on the area owners, location, view etc.. etc.. all made for a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gernotbremermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

The Whale's Way is a wonderful bed and breakfast on the ocean front in Wilderness, a true jewel. My partner and I stayed only night there in the room downstairs. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. With hindsight, though, we should have chosen one of the rooms in the attic with the wonderful view over the ocean. The breakfast was superb, with fresh fruit, different bread rolls, great yoghurt and muesli, ham and cheese, and different egg salads. We were asked if we wanted also a cooked breakfast, but that would have simply been too much. Overall, our stay was superb and we would highly recommend the Whale's Way to other couples looking for a wonderful stay in Wilderness.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmongardini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We've spent part of our 5th visit to South-Africa in Whale's Way, this B+B being recently purchased by Jaco and Mies DE ZOETE.
The room we've occupied (the Ocean Room) was very spacious and sunlight infused. It also offered a fantastic view at the Indian Ocean and its frequently passing pods of dolphins. It was clear that our room was recently renovated and thus included a brand new LCD-flatscreen, stereo system and DVD player. The new owners provided an excellent and always varied breakfast at the sundeck with an unparallelled view at the ocean. Only the shower stall could be subject to some renovation, but we learned that this renovation item was in the works... so no complaints whatsoever. Really a highly recommended place !

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slijkmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
2.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
712 reviews
2 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
2.5 mi away
Sea Paradise
Sea Paradise
#34 of 59 in Wilderness
87 reviews
0 mi away
Shining Waters
Shining Waters
#25 of 59 in Wilderness
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale's Way Ocean Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale's Way Ocean Retreat

Address: 858 6th Avenue, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $87 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale's Way Ocean Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale's Way is a stunning ocean-front retreat where you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Enjoy the spectacular ocean and mountain views and watch whales and dolphins from your bedroom. Most of the rooms have ocean views, TV, DVD and CD player. The style is light and open-plan with a natural elegance. The Penthouse rooms are particularly luxurious and decadent, perfect for those who appreciate the best of everything. Relax in the jacuzzi overlooking the Indian Ocean, walk along the deserted beach, enjoy a breathtaking sunset and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Many fine golf courses nearby. Close proximity to activities such as canoeing, paragliding, horse riding and more. Award-winning restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whale's Way Ocean Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing