We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
$56
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
$268
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
531
15
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
15
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detailbircher muesliguest houseoverlooking the lagoongarden routeperfect hostsfour poster bedplaces to visitprivate gardensouth africawelcome drinkevery eveningbreakfast was amazinghelpful hostswe've stayedcomfy bedhot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 548 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Best guesthouse we have stayed during our 3 week trip in South Africa. Beautiful rooms with a personal touch make you feel at home. Very friendly and helpful owners, serving delicious breakfast outside on the porch overlooking the lagoon. Location somewhat outside Wilderness, but a pleasant 10 minute walk to both town and beach.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurens27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

A genuine desire to help you enjoy this wonderful part of the country was reflected in a natural and delightful friendliness. The rooms are spacious and luxurious – even the “small” garden room was larger and more comfortable than we have experienced in many other guest houses. Excellent breakfasts and a wide range of maps set you up for the day!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrynEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

This was one of the most beautiful properties that I have ever stayed in. We had a four poster-king, lagoon facing room with a window running the entire length of one wall overlooking the lagoon, and hills in the distance. The room was huge and filled with light due to another window opposite. The decor was simple and classic, with neutral walls and dark wood furniture. The bathroom was also spacious, beautifully decorated, and with a free standing bathtub, as well as a large walk-in shower. I loved that aswell as placing candles in the bedroom and bathroom, there were also matches directly next to them, that encouraged you to use them and relax. The room also contained all the usuals - safe, fridge, tea/coffee facilities and a radiator, which was appreciated for the evenings, which in September can be a bit chilly. The proprietors were both exceptionally friendly without being intrusive, full of practical advice, and delighted to help my husband plan a birthday surprise for me. The property itself is a short walk away from the restaurants and shops. This is the most special place that we have stayed in on our honeymoon so far. Wilderness too is not to be missed on a garden route trip, if you are a nature-lover. It is small, quiet, absolutely beautiful, and teeming with birds and wildlife.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank isis109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Being first time to South Africe relied on advice from our travel agents 'Definitive Africa' who put together an excellent itinerary which was close enough to my budget:

Our last stay was in Wilderness (close to Knysna) and they chose a fabulous place in The Wilderness Manor which is situated next to the lagoon and only 5 mintues walk from the beach and town (restuarants).

Our room/suite was really luxurious and stylish with a balcony overlooking the lovely lagoon. A lovely dip in a 'slipper' bath and quick drink on the balcony before dinner each evening. One momentous evening spent at The Serendipity for a real gourmet experience which we can fully recommend too.

Marrianne (proprietor) couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was a good one; she helped with advice on local amenties and attractions, gave recommendations for hikes, lunching out etc and provided us with maps.

This was the perfect ending to a perfect trip,

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews