We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely guesthouse. From the moment we arrived we were spoilt rotten. Gerald and JD go the extra mile and beyond. Nothing was too much trouble. The guesthouse is immaculate with everything in its correct place. The furnishings are tasteful but luxurious and the attention to detail is amazing. The room was a suite, the breakfasts are perfect. They are the loveliest most generous hosts a guest could wish for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magicladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
320
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Warm, generous and thoughtful and that is just the owners JD and Gerald of Wilderness Manor! Never in my life have I been treated in such a respectful and considered manor by Guest house owners. They took the time to really make you feel at home in this beautiful guest house alongside the Touw river. With spacious rooms - gorgeously decorated you loose yourself with the surroundings and views. They even wait up to make sure you arrive safely should you decide to have dinner or paint the town red. In the morning they serve what I can describe as a 5 star breakfast accompanied by soft background music and a garden filled with colorful birds like the Knysna lorie.

When its time to say goodbye they greet you as if you are an old friend and you immediately feel sad to leave. No doubt in my mind WIlderness Manor will see me again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesltjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Was lucky enough to get a place in this haven last Sunday after unexpectedly having to stay overnight while waiting for a flight out from George (which is less than half an hour away). Warmly welcoming yet left to your own devices in the sumptuous common areas and your private bedroom which was generously heated to combat the miserable weather. Luxurious linen, fabulous full bathroom, glorious views of the lagoon and delicious full breakfast including homemade croissants and jams. What a delightful, unexpected treat.

Room Tip: Worth paying small premium for lagoon view. A road runs between the house and the lagoon but it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This lovely home in a great location with it's very spacious, beautifully furnished rooms is a real find and without a doubt the best we have experienced, thanks to the dedication of the owners, JD and Gerald who go out of their way to ensure each guest is so well looked after. All the comforts of home, complimentary port/muscadel, a delicious, generous and beautifully presented breakfast make it so inviting. They do take the welfare of the their guests to heart and each night when we came home, irrespective of the hour, they were waiting for our return and only go to sleep themselves once all their guests are safely back. I forgot an expensive face cream in our room which they kindly mailed back to me immediately -wonderful service! We will definitley be back when next in the Wilderness.

Room Tip: Upstairs lagoon facing with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenique7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arriving at the Wilderness Manor you are greeted by the most wonderful & accommodating of hosts, Gerald and JD, who make you feel truly at home. The bedrooms are wonderfully furnished, very spacious & have a relaxing ambiance. Not enough can be said of the luxurious & amazing breakfast spread that is offered. If ever there was a B&B we were more reluctant to leave it is the Wilderness Manor, it is simply perfect.

Room Tip: Always go for the lagoon view option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very well maintained hotel, huge lovely room and bathroom and wonderful breakfast. Gerald was very accommodating, entertaining and offered a lot of advice. We were very happy with our visit and would recommend to any traveller coming through the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMSW_Fog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This B&B was lovely and this was mainly due to the wonderful owners Gerald and JD. They were very welcoming, accommodating to our needs and helpful with recommendations within the local area. The breakfast was the best we had on our trip and one day we had to leave early as we were going to the see the meerkats in Oudtshoorn (www.meerkatadventures.co.za), Gerald and JD made us a pack up breakfast to take with us and woke up early to check we knew the route before setting off. The B&B is well situated just off the N2. Wilderness had a few nice restaurants and a lovely beach which was a short walk/drive away. During our stay in Wilderness, we visited Knysna and the Map of Africa. We had a relaxing stay at Wilderness and this was thanks to the excellent hosts. We would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#5 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Property: Wilderness Manor Guest House
Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing