We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks to Gerald I have my dream of a lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Manor Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks to Gerald I have my dream of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

You cannot help but love Wilderness Manor.
JD was away during our stay but Gerald....I will never forget. He helped us organise our time during our stay all of which were great. We visited the Cango Caves and then went to the wildlife park and actually stroked a tiger. Gerald told us that if we enjoyed that we should walk with the large cats where we were going next (to Plettenburg Bay) and where my dreams came true. He is the most dedicated host and was invaluable at giving good clear directions to wherever you needed to go. Apart from the house being just wonderfully clean and welcoming and the food being great too, Gerald was an amazing host and we will return. Well done

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suziegrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It is absolutely wonderful that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Manor so much.
Thank you so much for your review.
It is so fantastic to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves.
Great to hear that your dream has been fulfilled - it is fantastic to walk with the cheetahs at Tenikwa.
The cat experience at Cango Wildlife Ranch is also great!
We look forward to your return visit to Wilderness Manor.
Take care and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
313
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Gerald and JD have perfected the art of great hosts! Sadly, we could only stay overnight. Would love to stay longer. Great breakfast. Comfortable room with a beautifull view of the lagoon. Only complaint is that I did not have the opportunity to meet Max and Maggie, or to take them for a walk!! Definitely next time! Thanks for your hospitality, much enjoyed!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schalk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Schalk, next time you come to Wilderness Manor you will have the opportunity to meet Maxwell & Maggie.
You can even take them for that walk, and that is for definite - they will only be too happy to go along with you.
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to review Wilderness Manor.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great breakfast.
We look forward to your next stay with us and make it longer than one night only...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wilderness Manor is impeccably run by Gerald and JD. Nothing is left to chance and you can be assured of their devoted attention whether you are arriving at midnight or having an extra early breakfast. We’ve been there three times and every time we find it harder to leave. The quality of the food and lodgings is outstanding as is their consideration for their guests: they really go the extra mile which really makes you feel at home. If you have been there once I guarantee that you’ll be going back again. The rooms are spacious, clean and fresh. The breakfasts are individually prepared (just the way you like it and to perfection). We don’t bother looking for other places anymore, it’s a rare thing to find quality, hospitality and comfort like this. AN ABSOLUTE GEM!!!

Room Tip: Lagoon view, beautiful view any time of day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you Tony for your wonderful review.
It is much appreciated.
As always, it was only a pleasure having you, Wiesie and Peter staying with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again.
We look forward to next year when you will hopefully return again to stay with us for a 4th time.
All the best and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overath, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Unfortunately we were only 2 days at JD and Gerald. The two are super nice and very courteous. The house and rooms are beautifully and lovingly established. We felt very comfortable and will definitely come back. It was all perfect. Here to spend a dream holiday.
Stayed in April 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for spending part of your holiday with us at Wilderness Manor.
We are happy that you found the guest house and rooms beautifully and lovingly established.
Glad to hear that you were very comfortable and are planning to return one day.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Wilderness Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I wouldn't be so enthusiastic... The rooms are huge and comfortable, but this is a modern house with a view on the car park and on the road which is actually between the house and the lake. Not the paradise promised by the internet site, actually. It lacks some real soul!
OK breakfast, but not so nice as in many places in South Africa! And please turn that horrible elevator music off..
There ase much better places to stay in the area ... But I suppose this is popular with foreign tourists.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patap0uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your review on Wilderness Manor.
Each and every review is important to us as we at Wilderness Manor strive for "service excellence".
We however cannot find any record of your stay with us during November 2012 as reported by you.
We only had two solo travellers visiting Wilderness Manor during November 2012 and they were both corporate travellers, who return on a regular basis - 1 from Cape Town and 1 from Port Elizabeth.
We appreciate the honest and truthful reviews from our guests who have stayed at Wilderness Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely B&B. JD and Gerald are great hosts, attentive and helpful and do everything they can to help you enjoy your stay. Breakfast was very good, food well cooked and everything we wanted, loved the home baked muffins. The view over the lagoon is great, even when the sun isn't shining! We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

JD and Gerald showed genuine care and concern even before we arrived. They had to ensure that we arrived safely and that all was in order for our Honeymoon. My wife and I had a great time staying at Wilderness Manor and the personalized service we received was just extraordinary (it was actually a last-minute booking). Starting from the room overlooking the lagoon to sumptuous breakfast and a serene environment; we could not have chosen a better place for our first 1 week of marriage. As if the service was not enough, the hosts called us just to make sure we had arrived home safely. We hope to go back with a couple of our friends soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hon Remmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#7 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Property: Wilderness Manor Guest House
Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing