We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely B&B. JD and Gerald are great hosts, attentive and helpful and do everything they can to help you enjoy your stay. Breakfast was very good, food well cooked and everything we wanted, loved the home baked muffins. The view over the lagoon is great, even when the sun isn't shining! We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Manor Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 467 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

JD and Gerald showed genuine care and concern even before we arrived. They had to ensure that we arrived safely and that all was in order for our Honeymoon. My wife and I had a great time staying at Wilderness Manor and the personalized service we received was just extraordinary (it was actually a last-minute booking). Starting from the room overlooking the lagoon to sumptuous breakfast and a serene environment; we could not have chosen a better place for our first 1 week of marriage. As if the service was not enough, the hosts called us just to make sure we had arrived home safely. We hope to go back with a couple of our friends soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hon Remmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The proprietors of this guest house, JD and Gerald, worked as cabin crew for South African Airways and they treat their guests as though you were flying first class. Everything about their accommodation and care of their guests can only be described as excellent. Travelling along the Garden Route this was by far the best place we stayed in. The reception rooms were superb. Better than any of the hotels we stayed in and the bedroom was charming and comfortable. Their recommendation for an evening meal was spot on as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spending time at the Wilderness Manor a few weeks ago was absolutely delightful, with two charming and knowledgeable hosts - Gerald and JD – who gave us a wonderful welcome and showed us around their beautiful manor. Our room, overlooking the lagoon, consisted of a lounge area, which was cosy and comfortable and tastefully decorated. Our Hosts gave us all the information - and directions - we needed to visit places of interest, lovely walks, where to eat, and even took the trouble to make the bookings for us. Although we went expecting to enjoy just the bird life, we were thrilled to see a beautiful Deer grazing in the forest just a few metres from our window. We enjoyed the weekend so much that a month later we were back, this time in a room with a balcony and separate sitting room, again giving us a panoramic view of the lagoon. With strategically placed drinking bottles and a bird feeder near the breakfast room balcony, besides the lovely Sugar birds, White Eyes and Mousebirds, we were enchanted to see the Knysna Lourie feeding just a couple of metres away. Both weekends were a lovely experience, and we have no doubt that we will be back for more in the not-too-distant future. Rod & Lynne

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

From arrival to departure the whole experience was without doubt as good as you would expect from a five star hotel, but better, because of the friendly atmosphere and attention provided by JD and Gerald. Our room overlooked the lake and was in itself impressive. The breakfasts were superb. The Reception Rooms were a delight festooned with all their objet d'art collected on their travel when working for SAA. Brilliant

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Owners Gerald and J.D bring a touch of class to the wilderness with their immaculate guest house overlooking the lagoon. Both are very knowledgable about the area and are only too happy to share the hidden treasures one must explore in the area. What we thought was a sleepy little town, had a charm and character to it like no other. Our every need was anticipated including dinner booking at 'The Girls', an amazing Africa Fusion Restaurant which proved to be one of the best dining experiences of the trip so far. All fanciest of the manor are beautifully thought out, from the welcome drinks, the spectacular trimmings in the rooms to the complementary sherry in the sitting room. We would have stayed longer if we had time.

Room Tip: All rooms would be a joy to stay in
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hi_hi_hi_gday_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left after six days, we were made to feel extremely welcome and special by Gerald and J. D.
Our room was large with a small sitting area . Both were very comfortable and clean. We had a lovely view of the lagoon from our balcony.
The guest house is superbly located for sightseeing and close to good restaurants. There are numerous good golf courses in the area . The breakfast was great. We can recommend a relaxing and enjoyable stay and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $79 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing