We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Upon arrival, I feared this guesthouse would be too much of a hotel and not quite my thing. I couldn't be more wrong. From the first minute 'til the last, I enjoyed every minute. The hospitality, the information that was spontaniously given, the kindness and friendliness...it is obvious that hospitality and service-mindfulness runs in Gerald's and JD's veins. Combine that with a wonderful room (super clean, cosy, decorated with eye for detail and very spacious), a 5star breakfast and you have everything a B&B schould have to offer, even taking it a step beyond that; lifting it to a higher level... Don't forget to take some time for Maxwell, the hosts' charming companion :-)
Definitely worth the trip, one of the best guesthouses I ever stayed and in my opinion deserves a fifth star !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickdeheem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you Nick for your wonderful review of Wilderness Manor.
We appreciate you taking the time to review our guest house.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and it is great to know that you enjoyed yourself, from the first minute till the last.
It is wonderful when we can share the guest house with our guests and they enjoy their stay with us as much as you did.
Our aim is to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.
Thank you for mentioning Maxwell, our faithful labrador.
We look forward to when you return to South Africa again and we trust that Wilderness Manor will be one of your stops along the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 485 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Wilderness manor was my idea of heaven. My hubby and I felt privileged to share the home of such welcoming hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spacious and bright. The bed was one of comfiest I have slept in. The Manor was not just a B&B it was better than a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was one of the best we had ever had. When we visit South Africa again in years time, we hope to visit this "heaven on earth". Lots of love from went and windy UK. Kim and Steve x

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cautioukim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you Kim & Steve. It is wonderful to have guests who enjoy themselves at our guest house.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and sharing the guest house with you.
We look forward to the day when you return again to South Africa and to Wilderness Manor.
Thank you for that glowing review on Wilderness Manor.
It is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in this immaculate Manor for 4 days and absolutely enjoyed this tastefully maintained guest house with large spacious rooms, big bath and high quality service. The Manor's pretty surroundings and the fresh, wholesome, delicious breakfast served in the breakfast hall surrounded by quiet serene nature and pretty birds chirping as you eat made it a very memorable experience each morning. On the top of that Wilderness Manor gets another star for its hosts Gerald & JD who are very knowledgeable and extremely helpful making it very comforting for guests new to the country and enabling an enriching experience as they guide you through your itinerary, suggestions on great eating places in the vicinity, travel tips and really on whatever information or help you may need. Their recommendation to visit the Birds of Eden aviary was spot on.
Another plus is that its situated in Wilderness which is a very scenic and a quiet town with its beautiful beach, serene lagoon (right outside your room window) and its forest walks. Additionally it is centrally located on the Garden route and we found it easy to stay here and drive down to nearby places on the garden route (e.g. - drive to Knysna, Pletten berg bay, Oudtshoorn, Tsitsikamma between 30 min to 2 hours). We highly recommend Wilderness Manor and the Garden route as a must visit when in S. Africa

Room Tip: High standards of service and cleanliness across the board but you can choose a lagoon facing room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirawati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Wilderness Manor.
We enjoyed having you as our guests and sharing the knowledge of the area with you.
It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the Garden Route.
Thank you for your wonderful review on Wilderness Manor.
It means a lot to us when guests enjoy themselves and feel relaxed and welcome in our guest house.
We look forward to when you return again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Gerald and JD make a stay at Wilderness Manor an experience. They are fantastic and so enthusiastic about the area. The Guest House is a really treat. We had a four poster bed and free standing bath. The views over the lagoon are great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your positive review of Wilderness Manor.
Your review is highly appreciated.
We are only too happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here in December 2008 for our honeymoon. We were originally going to stay for 3 days and move onto another location but we loved it here so much we stayed for an extra 2 days. The rooms were gorgeous and our hosts couldn't have done more to make us welcome. The food was excellent, the breakfast turning me into a life long fan of poached eggs! This is one of the nicest and most welcoming places I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keelgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Wilderness is a beautiful area and you could not have chosen a better area to extend your stay.
Thank you for choosing to stay longer with us at Wilderness Manor.
It says something when our guests extend their stay with us - we know that they are enjoying themselves and feel at home.
I hope you have mastered the art of cooking poached eggs to perfection!!!
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have been to a couple of guesthouses and bed and breakfast places in South Africa where the establishment obviously caters for international tourists and where we as South Africans almost feel unwelcome. Well, Wilderness Manor is NOT such a place -- although of international standard, we felt very welcome and right at home!

The owners, Gerald and JD, are exceptional hosts, making us feel welcome right from the start, and offering helpful suggestions on what to do and see, and where to eat around the Wilderness area. The property is tastefully decorated throughout (the photos do not really do it justice), with spacious rooms and lounge areas.

Our room had a four-poster bed, couches, ensuite bathroom and large windows overlooking the Wilderness lagoon. There was also a fully stocked bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities available in the room. A good selection of books and magazines are available throughout the house, and complimentary dessert wines were also on offer.

Breakfast (cold buffet and hot breakfast on order) was great, and be sure to try JD's bircher muesli.

We can highly recommend Wilderness Manor -- it should also be a great hideaway spot for honeymooners!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpepler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

We welcome all our guests with a complimentary welcome drink.
We sit down and chat to them which immediately makes them feel at home.
After all, this will be their home for the duration of their stay with us.
We try to offer suggestions of what to do and see and also where the good restaurants are located.
We are happy that you liked all the aspects of your room and enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your honest review of Wilderness Manor.
We hope to see you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful experience - Gerald and JD are fabulous hosts starting with their welcome drink and chat and ending with their fond goodbyes! Breakfast was well catered for and they were happy to give advise in regards to dinner venues as well as local attractions. Shame we only stayed 2 nights!
The rooms were well appointed - including a decent hairdryer, which is not something found in many guest houses or B&Bs over there.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a lovely ambience not to mention the view over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanitaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of Wilderness Manor.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and it is good to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully next time will be longer than 2 days!
We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 59 in Wilderness
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#9 of 59 in Wilderness
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $79 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing