We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our first night on a road trip on the Garden Route in South Africa was a stay at the Wilderness Manor. We had a brilliant time there and were made to feel like family from the moment we arrived. A glass of wine was presented to us on arrival and we were given a gentle introduction to the area, where best to eat, what to do and everything in the house. Gerald and JD, both former flight attendants, know how to look after people and make them feel special and comfortable; they have all the little touches to a tee and we marvelled at the detail in everything from the way the breakfast was plated to the way the trees were trimmed - so rarely found in other guest houses. We really enjoyed everything they did to make our stay enjoyable and fun, even the topiary in the garden made us chuckle every time we saw it. The sunset and sunrise views over the lagoon were also magical. And the walk up to the nearby waterfall through the forest and up the river was very special. It was simply the best.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

It is heartwarming to know that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Manor.
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us.
It was a pleasure having you at Wilderness Manor and we are only too happy to share our knowledge and information on Wilderness and the surrounding area.
The walk through the forest to the waterfall is spectacular, as are our sunrises and sunsets.
Once again thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 490 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed at WM for three nights (our home base for touring the Garden Route) - everything was perfect and exceeded expectations! The guest house and grounds are beautifully decorated and impeccably maintained! The location -- quiet and peaceful. Our room was lovely, tastefully decorated and very large, and had a wonderful view of the lagoon. Gerald and JD were perfect, perfect hosts - cheerful and helpful in every way possible (activities, directions, timing, reservations). Breakfast was so, so delicious! Next time I am in South Africa, Wilderness Manor will be a destination stop. Thank you Gerald and JD for your warm and wonderful hospitality. Carlye

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventure-must
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of Wilderness Manor, Carlye.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything to your satisfaction.
We try to make our guests as comfortable as possible and offer true South African hospitality.
We look forward to your next stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Gerald and JD for three nights. The atmosphere was very welcoming and we were given alot of helpful information about the area. The breakfasts are prepared with so much care and only the best ingredients wew used. Overall the feel about the guesthouse is very elegant and luxurious yet one feels so welcome and the the two hosts are great people. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your positive review.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Wilderness Manor and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed with Gerald and JD last year and enjoyed their warm, first class hospitality so much that we were determined to return. In March we spent three nights with them and it was like returning to the home of friends. We had requested room number 4, which was the room we were in on the first visit. It is huge with a balcony running almost the width of the room and which overlooks the lagoon. You can also see the sea and the surrounding hills from there and it is lovely to sit out after returning from dinner, sipping their complementary muscadel and watching the night sky.

Breakfasts are very special at Wilderness Manor, each request for soft poached eggs or whatever one enjoys, being handled personally and expertly.

We found plenty to do in the area, lots of walks and time to read and I have no doubt that we will return to Wilcderness Manor as long as Gerald and JD are there.

If you are considering a trip to the Wilderness, make a point of staying with them. I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: All the rooms look beautiful but we think No 4 is the best! I wouldn't be disappointed though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBruceSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us so much, that you decided to return this year for another stay with us.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit to Wilderness Manor.
Your room will be ready and waiting for you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed in the Wilderness Manor for 2 nights. This was a very good experience. Gerald and JD are the perfect hosts. The breakfast was just excellent. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent. (our best restaurant experience in RSA was the girls restaurant in Wilderness). We can recommend very much this location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HubertB276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for your review of Wilderness Manor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the breakfast to be excellent.
Glad to hear that you took our advice and went to The Girls restaurant.
We hope to see you back again at Wilderness Manor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the Manor on our drive down the Garden Route. The house is in a lovely location overlooking the lagoon and an easy walk to the village shops and restaurants. Gerald and JD the owners are really freindly and welcoming and give you lots of information on Wilderness, and the surrounding area. Inside the house is beautifully appointed, spacious and with a gorgeous guest lounge. We had a lagoon facing bedroom which opened out on to a balcony with a view over the lagoon. Again the bedrooom (with a four poster bed) was spacious and beautifully appointed. The breakfast was of high quality with loads of choice for a hot breakfastas well as fresh fruit, cheeses and meats. We would love to return to South Africa one day and would definitely stay at Wilderness Manor. Cannot recommend it highly enough.
PS Gerald and JD suggested we try two restaurants in Wilderness, The Girls and Flava Flava -both superb
Trevor & Jan Redditch Worcestershire

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trejan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return one day to South Africa and come back to Wilderness Manor.
Thank you for your good review.
It is always great to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay and wish to return.
We are always full of suggestions for our guests to make their stay more enjoyable.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed The Girls restaurant and Flava Cafe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Sometimes you just visit somewhere that is perfect. Wilderness Manor is such a place. The attention to detail that JD and Gerald put in to the whole experience is superb. From the moment you are welcomed at the door to the moment you leave their total aim is to make your stay perfect and for you to feel special. They certainly achieve those goals. They give such detail about what to do and where to go, not only in the area but in the next area you are travelling to. Nothing is too much trouble. The room we had (a lagoon view with balcony) was beautifully appointed, everything you could ever need, the bed was extremely comfortable with a high quality mattress and wonderful linens. Obviously spotless everywhere. Then you have the stunning view from your balcony, watching the sun set over the lagoon whilst sipping a glass of wine. Breakfasts are just superb. The attention to detail in the table, buffet and hot food, and service is just the best, simply of the highest standards. On top of all this wonderfulness they are both such lovely, caring people. Do yourself a favour and go and stay there!! It's great.

Room Tip: Lagoon View with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Thank you for finding Wilderness Manor a perfect place to stay and that you had a superb experience.
We try to make our guests as comfortable as possible and for them to feel special.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your room and that you enjoyed those wonderful sunsets, sipping a glass of wine!
Thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 59 in Wilderness
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 59 in Wilderness
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $80 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth on the internationally renowned Garden Route and nestled between mountains and golden beaches, you will find one of South Africa's most favoured holiday destinations, the seaside village of Wilderness. Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined guest house overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the heart of the scenic village of Wilderness. Step out of the front door and cross the road onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to beaches, restaurants and village shops. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or reading lounge, with superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Wilderness Manor is luxuriously decorated in an African colonial style with fine oriental rugs, heirlooms, antiques, art and collectables which contribute to a refined and stylish ambience. Retire to the serenity of four stylish en-suite bedrooms: three luxury and spacious lagoon facing rooms on the second floor with superb views of the lagoon and one standard garden room on the ground floor with a private garden / patio. Look forward to our Continental buffet and English breakfast served in our breakfast room, opening onto a sunny balcony overlooking the indigenous forest where the Knysna Loerie often comes to feed... Whether you are passionate about water sports, hiking, extreme adventure or animal encounters, the Garden Route and Klein Karoo has something for you. CHILD POLICY: Wilderness Manor is not suitable for infants and children younger than 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing