We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not To Be Missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Boutique Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not To Be Missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

My wife and I have returned from a 2 week stay in South Africa which included 6 nights at the Cinnamon Boutique and we enjoyed every minute.
The owners Johan & Desmond were perfect hosts and the Cinnamon is a great guest house. The rooms are large, comfortable, immaculate and well appointed.
There is a lovely swimming pool area and spacious outdoors deck where a great breakfast is served. The guest lounges are comfortable and roomy with a well stocked 'honesty bar'. The entire place is beautifully decorated and there has been a lot of attention paid to the detail.
The 'new jewel' at the Cinnamon is the recently opened restaurant. We dined there 4 nights out of the 6 we stayed and it was by far the best we experienced in the area. A fixed price with lots of choice to suit all tastes. (I believe the menu changes weekly). Every dish we had was excellent and between the both of us we tried most of them! A credit to the chef. There is also a great wine list. The restaurant has a very nice relaxed atmosphere whether eating on the terrace or within and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly - a special mention to Barry who went out of his way to assist us and make us very much at home.
Be sure not to miss this restaurant if in the area - I would call ahead to make a reservation if I were you as it was full on a number of nights. In fact if you're in the area you should stay at the Cinnamon! We certainly will if returning for another visit to SA.

  • Liked — All of it!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crimson59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    45
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
59
330
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

Dear Desmond and Johan,

a very big thank you from our group of 4 for our outstanding stay with you at the Cinnamon boutique guesthouse. Having stayed in many guest houses and hotels around the world over the last 30 years I can say with no hesitation that you guys have created a truely outstanding 'home from home' for guests. You have a beautiful guest house, full of really tasteful and interesting artifacts and furniture, with first class facilities. Our Valentines Day meal in the Cinnamon restaurant was also a highlight of our visit to South Africa. Well done for creating a truely outstanding guest experience. We will be back for more!

Thanks again to you both, and your team, for such a great experience.


Stuart

  • Liked — the owners/hosts and the facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank silverted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2008

Just had the pleasure of a 2 night stay at the Cinnamon Boutique. Only problem it was just not long enough! Desmond and Johan the owners designed and built the hotel..it is an absolute credit to them. The attention to detail is incredible. We loved the Wilderness...and the Cinnamon.. probably one of our favourite places along the Garden Route. You WILL NOT be disappointed if you book.

The restaurant, which has recently been added has just won an ward for it's food, which I must say is to 'die for!' Nadia the chef has just won 'Garden Route Chef of the Year.' You really MUST try the food. There tends to be one menu for the week.. but there is plenty of choice and the quality and presentation is second to none.

The hotel is spotless and the rooms and bathrooms huge. My partner had won a competition for 'Regional Director of the Year' and I emailed Desmond to see whether there was anything special they could do. As a result our room was superb with 2 baconies, one overlooking the swimming pool area...the view was just so 'the wilderness!!'

We will definitely go back to this wonderful 'boutique hotel' when we return to South Africa.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING...! Cleanliness, quality.. decor..the lot...just loved it!
  • Disliked — Nothing...enjoyed everything..could not fault it!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TraceyJaneTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2008

On our tour through S-A we spent a couple of days in this guesthouse situated in quiet, green surroundings. The hosts did everything to make us feel comfortable. The rooms are all spacious, very clean and well equipped. The food in the restaurant is very, very good, the staff friendly and the atmosphere telaxed. We will certainly go back when in S-A.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank HermanWassenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

There cannot be a better place to stay on the Garden Route: the accommodation is immaculate, the restaurant is recognised as one of the best on the Garden Route and the hosts (Desmond and Johan) very attentive and helpful.
This is a 5 star Guest House and it is difficult to see how it could be improved - we will certainly return next time we are in the area.

  • Liked — Excellent condition and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — None - it was all good
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tallymanLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2008

This place is a little piece of heaven. The most beautiful location, rooms are very large and full of all conceivable amenities. The food is divine and Desmond and Johan are the perfect hosts. Can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irishbear41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2007

Loved Cinnamon. The attention to detail from the surroundings to the food was exquisite. Desmond and Johan could not have made us feel more welcome. The quality of the furnishings and room fittings were excellent, truly worthy of it's 5 star rating. Very well situated if you want a base for touring the garden route rather than constantly packing and unpacking bags. Wish we had stayed longer

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dollybarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
0.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
10.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Boutique Guest House

Property: Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Address: 2351 Beacon Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Boutique Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House provides the finest Wilderness accommodation there is to offer. The guest house consists of 13 luxurious suites, most with their own balconies (facing either the mountain or the ocean), King-size beds, fantastic bathrooms and their own sitting areas. Other room amenities include air conditioning, big-screen satellite TV and free wi-fi internet. The main lobby includes a very spacious open plan restaurant where breakfast is served. Opening out onto the veranda you'll find the pool and patio/sundeck - perfect for summer garden breakfasts or to just read a book during the day. You'll also find two lounges and a very stylish bar where you can relax before or after dinner with a few drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cinnamon Boutique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing