We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Couple”
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Ranked #22 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
“Anniversary Couple”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

It was a nice place to stay. Decore could use some help. Cosy atmosphere with the fire place in the bar. Music selection in the resturant should be changed daily as i knew each song by the end of the day. i was surprised that there was no wine list available. Over all we had a pleasant enough stay with Fairy Knowe Hotel. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Celeste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    200
    125
    45
    33
See reviews for
187
205
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Fairy Knowe Backpackers is set in a lovely green area not far from the entrance to the Wilderness National Park and some nice hikes. The staff is helpful in recommending hikes and places to eat/shop. We had a nice large room, and utilized the shared bath facilities. There is a beautiful large outdoor bar, which is a great place to have a few beers and spend the evening. The downsides are that the place is starting to show its age, and the shared bathroom and kitchen facilities could use some upgrades and were not comparable to many other Backpackers we stayed in. Overall however this was a nice place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthgirlDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Fairy Knowe at the end of May 2014. We had been to Fairy Knowe many, many years ago, and were looking forward to our return. On our arrival, found staff to be unfriendly, food of poor standard, and no "uniformity" in the staff apparel. This is most unfortunately, as the location is absolutely fantastic.......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Beautiful location. Most of the staff were friendly. But there was only 1 sheet, extremely thin blanket & large piece of fabric in lieu of bedspread - we almost froze! Towels seemed to be ancient. TV's power cable had exposed wire. We got scolded at 21:51 for not whispering while having a conversation outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilderness hotels

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The accodation was not quite what we expected, the website made it look much more luxurious than it actually was. But the room was spacious and everything we needed. The staff were friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

At first we got a place in the rondovals, after complaining we were upgraded. Very happy with the room and the views from the room. Food and staff were Good. Location was very good. We went paragliding which is just up the road.

Room Tip: Get upgraded its better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diveena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have stayed at the Fairy Knowe often over a number of years and we are really sad to see what was once a lovely hotel becoming so shabby and neglected due to lack of proper management. It is such a pity because it is in such wonderful location and so perfect for family holidays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#3 of 36 in Wilderness
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#26 of 56 in Wilderness
65 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 56 in Wilderness
134 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#28 of 56 in Wilderness
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Property: Fairy Knowe Hotel
Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Knowe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing