We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feedback”
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Ranked #22 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Jeffreys Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“feedback”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

It is a lovely setting and the people are friendly. Felt the Manager should have greeted his guests personally as the hotel was not full. Service from a booking, confirmation aspect definitely needs attention. Became very frustrated with no replies to emails

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    203
    131
    45
    33
See reviews for
190
211
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Lovely setting. This was a nostalgic visit as our family had visited here before. Few improvements suggested. New Year's Eve dinner was NOT festive, no dessert, poorly organised. You need comfortable chairs in bedrooms if people want to read and relax. Climbing over bath to get into shower most uncomfortable. Waitress in lounge knows nothing about wine, please train her, she is eager to learn. You should serve muesli @ breakfast - most people need muesli when they travel ;-) ;-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Truida_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We bought a voucher for Fairy Knowe and then looked at some reviews - they were SOOO varied! Some hated it and said the food and service was poor - others praised it as a great family hotel that they always visited. SOO we were unsure what to expect! First it IS a three star establishment and should be reviewed as such - it is crazy to review a 3* hotel and expect 5* standards! FK is a very old hotel - old building standards - little sound insulation between rooms so if they have some noisy guests - it can sound noisy. BUT old means well established and the gardens and lawns are wonderful with mature trees and a peaceful ambiance. We found the staff eager to please and very friendl;y. We found the food was good with decent sized portions (The eisbein was the biggest ever!!) Favourite was the sticky ribs which were sweetly delicious! Everything was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were sufficiently impressed to book a night's stay two weeks later on our way back home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I would never stay at the Fairy Knowe again unless it upgraded. The place is way overdue for an upgrade. Its full of creature and spiders and stuff. Linen filthy. Needs to be properly cleaned. Rotten to

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilderness hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Been going to the Fairy Knowe for the past 25 years and it justs gets better every time. Excellent value for money, superb staff and a lovely setting; relaxed atmosphere and left invigorated. Good to see the changes have not spoilt the atmosphere but has improved the pleasure of the stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Can recommend to anyone. Its not the most modern hotel, but the stay was amazing. Realy felt at home from the very start. The service is great and the people are friendly and helpfull. Just a pitty we couldn't stay longer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank britcilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The stay at the Hotel was good and staff assisted us best they could,but the hotel was definitely not what we expected. It lacked a lot of what was advertised and that lead to a partially disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
2.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 57 in Wilderness
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#3 of 37 in Wilderness
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mes Amis
Mes Amis
#16 of 57 in Wilderness
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#11 of 57 in Wilderness
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Property: Fairy Knowe Hotel
Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Knowe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing