We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sad state of delcline”
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Ranked #23 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A sad state of delcline”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have been going to the Fairy Knowe on and off for years. This holiday was purchased on a voucher which is probably why they wanted to give us the worst rooms in the hotel until I asked if any better would be available. The food is what I would rate as average, but the prawns were decidedly mushy and not very good at all. The meat dishes were better but the plate was piled with food with no attention to presentation at all. The service in the restaurant was fairly good.

My husband cut his leg on a branch protruding from a pot plant, they could not even offer him a plaster, but the receptionist offered him some 'aftersun' which I do not think would have helped. It took three complaints to various staff and management before they cut the offending branch. Top management ignored us most of the time, the staff seemed mainly to comprise of their off spring with the average age around 19. The building itself needs some serious upgrading. It is so sad as this is a lovely property in a lovely setting, but there are serious problems with management and maintenance. I think that that will be our last visit to the Fairy Knowe

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank capesplendour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    185
    119
    45
    30
See reviews for
176
195
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Albeit a bit dated, the main things about this hotel are the friendly staff, the cleanliness not only of your room but of the whole hotel. We didn't try any of the free water activities but many others who were there at the same time appeared to enjoy it immensely and the tennis court was always in use. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the lady who cooked the eggs had the most wonderful smile to greet you with! ( Her omelettes are divine! ) The evening meals were also deliciousand there was a good range of choices, however the size of the portions beat me and my husband but if you have a large appetite it's certainly a restaurant you won't walk away from hungry. Overall we enjoyed the peace, tranquility and most of all the entire staff of Fairy Knowe. We will certainly be making another trip in the future to the Fairy Knowe.
P.S. For your information, we too are an older couple ( but young at heart ) and yes there were kids there, but remember we were all kids at some point in our lives and we liked to enjoy ourselves then !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Definitely past it's sell by date! Location & kid's activities are fine, but as an older couple not recommended. Very noisy food is ok but dining room is so large, crowded & noisy, don't stay there unless you have children with you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veysey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wilderness is undeniably a spectacular place so any lodgings in such surroundings would find it difficult to do a bad job. But Fairy Know exceeds expectations. The warm welcome from Digby and staff afforded us a glimpse into the quiet and cool surroundings of the resort and our room overlooking the river was easily one of the best we have stayed in in SA. For budget accommodation, you don’t normally expect to be housed in a 19th century farmhouse complete with feather pillows and crisp, white linen. The kitchen area was excellent with a gingham-clad dining area where guests could mingle and chat. Comfy couches and swinging chairs overlooked the river whilst the well-priced bar catered to the more physical challenges of pool, darts and watching tennis on TV. The breakfasts and communal dinners were wonderful and very reasonably priced. A Badminton cum Volleyball court sat out front with a space for soccer at the side as well as idyllic sun lounging spots. A range of excellent hikes can be taken directly from the site as well as options to rent a canoe, surfboard or bike for the day.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carys m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsbay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The wilderness and suroundings are nothing new to me but this Hotel came like a breath of fresh air and took me back to an era where service, friendly staff, clean rooms and of course nature at its best were still in reach of the working class. The first morning we were there i struggled a bit to get out of bed but the next morning my brain woke me up for this devine buffet breakfast.The dinner Buffet also of top quality! No stone unturned from the chefs and kitchen staff to serve only the best food and the choclate mousse made me gym an extra hour this morning

Old school bar where you still meet decent people that become friends before you leave for the comfort of your room

I have travelled international as well as local and can reccomend staying here if you need to have a decent rest

I really had a good rest and can't wait to visit this place and people that really took a special place in my heart, again!

Room Tip: Nice rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gideon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstowsn south africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I read an interesting writeup in the Port Elizabeth Weekend Post about The Fairy Knowe Riverside Family Resort and Hotel in the Wilderness. The Writer of the Article had been holidaying there for many years and had only positive things to say so We decided to take Our Family there for a few days. Well what a wonderful surprise awaited Us. We were welcomed by very friendly Staff and ushered to Our rooms which were spotless, nicely furnished, comfortable with a balcony overlooking the beautiful Touw River. As a Family there was so much to do there and We fell just fell in love with the Hotel. The meals were delicious and seen to by such competent and helpful Staff. I can truly recommend The Fairy Knowe Hotel and We are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms by the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just spent a week with our family at the Fairy Knowe Hotel, and only have one complaint so far and that is, we would like to have stayed an extra night but unfortunately our rooms were already booked out to new arrivals, so sadly we bade farewell to a wonderful place.

Our children had such fun on the paddle boats and canoes and we hardly saw them.

There were eight of us in our party, and truth be told, I never heard a single complaint. The variety of food, breakfast and dinner certainly left no hungry bodies in our group. My husband and I were happy to find our two favourite foods in the breakfast buffet, namely his, Haddock and mine, savoury mince.

Our carved meats in the evening were more than sufficient to keep us happy! and a large variety of vegetables were on display. Desserts were yummy.

My husband and I love our local bird life and were treated to viewing a Black Headed Oriole with a pink beak come to feed on some cheese the GM kindly let us have, we also saw a Woodpecker and caught glimpses of the Knysna Loerie in the trees above. There is a bird hide for the water species of feathered friends.

So thumbs up Fairy Knowe, we shall be seeing you in the near future, in fact have already booked our 10 nights over Christmas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 36 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#16 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#9 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Property: Fairy Knowe Hotel
Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairy Knowe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing