We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best week of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
Ranked #16 of 60 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2008

Too many times have I been to a lodge or hotel and received average service, being over-promised and under-delivered. John and Jody from Porcupine Pie have proven that there is one place where your expectations will be constantly exceeded.

From the moment you arrive til the time you leave, prepare to experience a slice of heaven. From the luxurious beds to the exquisite meals (all prepared by John & Judy), from the breathtaking scenery to the bay-window baths, Porcupine Pie leads the way as my favourite holiday destination EVER. Nothing actually comes remotely close.

Porcupine Pie sets the benchmark against which all holiday destinations should be measured.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevehypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2008

Stayed 2 nights at Porcupine Pie on our road trip along the Garden Route and had a fantastic time.

The lodge is in a fantastic location in the forests above Wilderness and John and Judy are truly lovely hosts.

Each room is beautifully equipped with stunning views of the surrounding countryside. Both nights we were there we stayed in and ate John's great home cooking and sampled some of the local wines.

It's a real get away from it all place that is as good as it looks.

Thanks J&J for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoisonDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights and really would have been happy to have stayed on for many more! John and Judy are simply perfect hosts - they make you feel as if you are visiting life long friends. Although most attentive they were never imposing. John's dinners are superb (and excellent value!) and Judy's artistic eye and attention to detail contribute to a truly wonderful and memorable experience. They have clearly found their niche and are delighted to share information on local attractions with their guests. Honestly nothing is too much trouble for them! The setting is out of this world and we simply loved the wonderful views into the national park. Don't worry about comments with regards to the road to the property - it is perfectly negotiable in a basic/small hire car and John's directions are very clear. It is close to the town although we didn't bother eating there as John's cooking was so impressive. The long sandy beach and the N2 is only a short drive away. This is a perfect location if you want to recharge your batteries in the most beautiful natural surroundings....and oh yes - you won't believe the view from the loo and the bath and you can "commune with nature" by safely leaving your balcony doors open all night! We feel very fortunate to have "discovered" John and Judy's wonderful African paradise and sincerely thank them for sharing it with us!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Anderida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights on a 3 month trip and it was simply perfect. John and Judy were fabulous hosts, attentive, informative and great company without being imposing in any way. The setting is out of this world and there is plenty to do with wilderness town on the doorstep, some great walks with an amazing waterfall an hours ramble away, we spent most of our time just relaxing with one of the best views I have experienced.

The food was of a quality you would be hard pushed to find in some of the best hotels prepared simply and honestly. They operate an honesty policy with drinks and this exemplifies their attitude and warmth to their guests, wish we had stayed longer, many thanks and all the best.

Doran and Mel

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tranmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

We spent 2 nights at Porcupine Pie while travelling the Garden Route.

Perched on the hillside overlooking the Wilderness Nature Reserve this was by far the best accommodation we stayed in during our visit to South Africa. John and Judie are warm and friendly without being too familiar. the rooms are spotless and the food is excellent. Total peace and relaxation assured.

The road is unmade and a little daunting but otherwise no problem.

Compared with some of the other 4 and 5 star guest houses we stayed at this should be 6 star.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hampshire_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

It was the name that attracted us in the first place. When the response to our enquiry was very friendly and welcoming we had a good feeling about Porcupine Pie, and the reality exceeded our expectations. The accommodation is gorgeous - comfortable and classy, with everything you could wish for to make your stay really comfortable. You have your own wooden chalet overlooking a deep valley; so high up that the birds wheel below you. The plunge pool is ideal for cooling off, and the lapa that serves as sitting room, bar and dining area, is lovely. The only drawback, if drawback it is, is that the road to the place is steep and narrow, changing from tar to dirt to thin cement strips.Fine by day, but there was no way we were going back down it at night. Luckily John, the owner, is a magnificent cook and served us a very good meal by candlelight in the guest dining room. It was a special birthday for one of our party, and John and Judy went out of their way to make it a night to remember.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ganifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

What a place! It’s not just the stunning views and peace and quiet which make Porcupine Pie one of the best places to stay in South Africa, but the homely and relaxed atmosphere which your hosts John and Judy seem to create from the moment you arrive.
We arrived in the Wilderness having spent 4 hectic days on the Cape, thinking we may get bored – how wrong we were!! This lodge is the perfect place to relax and wind down yet there’s still so much to do if you want to!
There are 3 private chalets which each have a spacious bedroom, large deck, and bathroom with views of the mountains. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, and the rooms are simply but contemporarily furnished completed with hand painted basins and Judy’s artwork.
We loved it so much that we decided to abandon the car for the 3 days we were there and dine at the lodge – both Judy and John are marvellous cooks and will cater for either the adventurous or fussy eaters – on the first night we were served ostrich steaks, and on the second night joined them for a braai (bbq) where we picked up some great recipes to bring back to the UK.
In the day we took a gentle stroll down the mountain and across the private river to pick up a walk on the Kingfisher trail to the waterfalls. On our return John had delivered a large picnic hamper and some chairs to the private beach on the edge of Porcupine Pie Lodge’s private river where we spent a lazy afternoon swimming in the river and consuming a great bottle of local wine!
Porcupine Pie sounds almost to good to be true, but as it has only been open a year, it is not yet in all the guidebooks, so is still a true hidden gem – you need to get there soon before it starts winning lots of awards and becoming too popular as we are certain it will!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 60 in Wilderness
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 60 in Wilderness
331 reviews
14.8 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 24 in Sedgefield
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 60 in Wilderness
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge

Address: 10 Mile Lane | Wilderness Heights, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $147 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A custom Built getaway in the heart of the Garden Route coomprising three luxury secluded chalets and a central "lapa" with a cocktail bar, lounge and dining room. It is situated on a 17ha estate bordering on the Touw River and the Wilderness National Park. On the estate there are great walking & birding trails, with rock pools & waterfalls for swimming or picnicing. Far from the bustle, but close to all the Garden Route has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing