We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have us hooked!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
Ranked #14 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from our SIXTH visit to Porcupine Pie. This time we took friends from
UK and met up with family too, so we virtually took the place over. It was rather like going home! We enjoy everything so much. The incredible hospitality of John and Judy, the
marvellous food, the outstanding views and comfort of the chalets. Hopefully we will return again - our sincere thanks as usual.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 178 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a great experience at Porcupine Pie. Beautiful location and John is a great host who was always on hand for recommendations and sorting out activities for us. The breakfasts were memorable and the views of the National Park were unparalleled. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We can highly recommend this fantastic guest-house!!!! The photos dont do the whole experience enough justice! Perfect hospitality and wonderful location....a must for people who want to relax and enjoy a breathtaking view!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous! There are only 3 lodges, which adds to the privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexLorrainevanmarru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My fiance and I travel extensively, and ashamedly so, have promised reviews to other places we stayed at without ever taking the time to actually do so! Life takes over...BUT, for this one, I am going to make an exception...and actually keep my promise.
John and Judy, you are two of the most amazing hosts we have every had. My fiance and I joked about how you (the hosts) and "the place" compete with each other for first prize...well, sorry to have to disappoint you, but you both will have to share that gold medal.
We had such a special weekend with you during September this year and we just wanted to thank you for making us feel so welcome and treating us like royalty. Judy we are still talking about your mouthwatering strawberry cheesecake and John, OMW that steak and those chicken kebabs...mmmmm.....Please people, don't waste your time and money on eating at any other place in Wilderness.
John and Judy we want to congratulate you on the beautiful retreat you have created, a little piece of heaven. A place we will be sure to return to.

Room Tip: There is ONLY 3 chalets, so any one is a great one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had the pleasure of enjoying 4 nights at this lovely place. Wonderful hosts who serve a great breakfast and John cooks the most delightful evening meals (be sure to enquire and confirm his cooking nights! - better than any local restaurant). The lodges (3) were well fitted and most comfortable, all with wonderful views over the valley, mountains and natural forest. Great walks down to the waterfall and along the Touw river. If you want a few days away from the rat race and really want to be spoiled with excellent cuisine and pure relaxation - visit Porcupine Pie. We will be back.

Room Tip: all three rooms are completely independent units and all have wonderful views over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Newly-wed and with stars in her eyes, I didn't need much help to woo my wife. However, this place delivered the knockout punch. And when the stars lose their shine, I will certainly consider returning to porcupine pie - the perfect spot to find each other again.

Great food, wonderful hosts, stunning views, and private cabins are what you can expect.

In addition, Wilderness is beautiful and in the heart of the garden route. Its beaches are as good as they come.

P.Pie is 3km's inland as the crow flies, but about 6km by road.

Do yourself a favour and visit.

Room Tip: There are only 3 cabins and I don't think any is significantly better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is the fifth time we have been to Porcupine Pine, and It's just like going home!! (to be spoilt I might add). Over the years we have seen the grounds mature and blossom and love to return to see John and Judy. John's cooking is amazing and the local area is packed with superb places to eat. Wilderness beach(3 or 4 miles away) is my favourite in all the world, long, elegant with white sand and hardly any people. The stars you can view from your deck each night are amazing, not a sign of light pollution. The bathroom is fabulous - like having a bath in the open air as the view is so spectacular and private. This time we spent a week there. Much to do in the local area or just chill by the pool. As usual we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
42 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.8 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
374 reviews
1.5 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 59 in Wilderness
369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge

Address: 10 Mile Lane | Wilderness Heights, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $119 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A custom Built getaway in the heart of the Garden Route coomprising three luxury secluded chalets and a central "lapa" with a cocktail bar, lounge and dining room. It is situated on a 17ha estate bordering on the Touw River and the Wilderness National Park. On the estate there are great walking & birding trails, with rock pools & waterfalls for swimming or picnicing. Far from the bustle, but close to all the Garden Route has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing