We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of a memorable honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
Ranked #15 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Newly-wed and with stars in her eyes, I didn't need much help to woo my wife. However, this place delivered the knockout punch. And when the stars lose their shine, I will certainly consider returning to porcupine pie - the perfect spot to find each other again.

Great food, wonderful hosts, stunning views, and private cabins are what you can expect.

In addition, Wilderness is beautiful and in the heart of the garden route. Its beaches are as good as they come.

P.Pie is 3km's inland as the crow flies, but about 6km by road.

Do yourself a favour and visit.

Room Tip: There are only 3 cabins and I don't think any is significantly better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 182 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is the fifth time we have been to Porcupine Pine, and It's just like going home!! (to be spoilt I might add). Over the years we have seen the grounds mature and blossom and love to return to see John and Judy. John's cooking is amazing and the local area is packed with superb places to eat. Wilderness beach(3 or 4 miles away) is my favourite in all the world, long, elegant with white sand and hardly any people. The stars you can view from your deck each night are amazing, not a sign of light pollution. The bathroom is fabulous - like having a bath in the open air as the view is so spectacular and private. This time we spent a week there. Much to do in the local area or just chill by the pool. As usual we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

What a wonderful place! The chalets (there are only 3 of them) are beautiful and spacious with a stunning view on the valley and the park. The atmosphere is nice and relaxed. John and Judy are perfect hosts, very helpful and kind. You can walk nicel trails from the chalets into the Wilderness Park, but you can also relax at they big balcony with the beautiful or just go to the pool.
The food is very good as well, so this is really a perfect spot for a relaxing holiday. We can highly recommend this place to any couple!

Thanks John & Judy for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: there are only 3 chalets and all of them are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maritvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent two nights at Porcupine Pie on our honeymoon in October and we were completely blown away! What a wonderful spot! The chalets are gorgeous with your own private (and very spacious) balcony overlooking the beautiful valley. The rooms are lovely with a beautiful en-suite bathroom with a view of the valley. John and Judy are wonderful hosts and happy to help with anything you may need. There is also a communal area with a pool and comfy outdoor furniture where you can relax and enjoy a delicious breakfast (John is an amazing cook)and dinners. It is also so close to Wilderness beach and many great walks that you are honestly spoilt for choice.

For a very romantic, beautiful and special getaway you really cannot go wrong with choosing Porcupine Pie. We recommend it to any couple that is looking for the perfect place for a honeymoon or special visit. We honestly can't stop raving about this place! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We spent two nights at Porcupine Pie on our honeymoon and wish we'd booked to stay longer! It is the perfect honeymoon/romantic escape- beautiful spacious accommodation, your own private balcony with spectacular views, gorgeous communal lapa and scumptious breakfasts and dinners. You can either chill at the pool which has breathtaking views, walk in the river valley and swim in secluded rock pools or sample the many adventure sports the area has to offer... The ideal place to relax or be active...what ever you are in the mood for! There are only three chalets and only adults are allowed so there are never more the six guests on the property- which keeps the atmosphere at the lodge intimate. John and Judy are the best hosts we've ever had- so kind, helpful and hospitable- they really make you feel welcome and at home. We'd highly recommend Porcupine Pie to every couple.

Room Tip: All three chalets are beautiful and have excellent privacy, but chalet three is the most secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

WOW - What a find!

We were greeted by John and Judy (amazing hosts), the resident Porcupine (Pie) and there super friendly BIG dog ( Great Dane - if i remember correctly)

Perfect setting, amazing attention to detail, so inviting, intimate and service like we have never experienced before. Very special

And can John cook - WOW!

Couldn't have chosen a better spot for our honeymoon!

Will definitely recommend to all and sundry and we hope to be back sometime!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleoneCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

This is our secong stay at the Porcupine pie. This place is stunning. It is located in the wilderness hills, away from everything, with beautiful scenery. The rooms are fantastic - large bathroom and room with great facilities. We woke up, opened the curtains, went back to bed and just looked at the fantastic view. Wow. The bathroom warms up with the sun through the large windows. The sunken bath was irresistible - there aren't many bathrooms with a view like this. No-one can see you as the other properties are a long way away. The attention to detail in the rooms and Lapa (main lodge) is wonderful. Breakfast and dinner are served in the Lapa. John and Judy are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble and the food is really good. For a couple of nights they recommeded local restaurants - Sails and Pommodoro - both are excellent. At night the stars are breathtaking. There is no light pollution so I recommend some binoculars. Lay back on the sunbeds and watch the stars while the owls and baboons chat away. The place is well located for walking, great beaches and Knysna.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GH1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.1 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pink Lodge on the Beach
The Pink Lodge on the Beach
#16 of 62 in Wilderness
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 24 in Sedgefield
465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 62 in Wilderness
340 reviews
2 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 62 in Wilderness
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge

Address: 10 Mile Lane | Wilderness Heights, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $149 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A custom Built getaway in the heart of the Garden Route coomprising three luxury secluded chalets and a central "lapa" with a cocktail bar, lounge and dining room. It is situated on a 17ha estate bordering on the Touw River and the Wilderness National Park. On the estate there are great walking & birding trails, with rock pools & waterfalls for swimming or picnicing. Far from the bustle, but close to all the Garden Route has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing