We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly exceptional experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #5 of 60 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2009

In all our travels, this is the best guest house that we have ever stayed at! The nine exquisitely furnished thematic suites and objects d'art from around the world makes Moontide totally unique. Located on the picturesque Wilderness lagoon, with its magnificent surrounding scenery, made it the perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Garden Route.
The owner, Maureen Mansfield, was charming, interesting, welcoming and a font of knowledge about the area. All the places of interest and restaurants that she recommended to us were of the highest order. Breakfast, beautifully served on the deck, added to the romance of being in such special surroundings, while the family of ducks swimming past and the Kingfishers diving for food, adding to the charm. The service from all the staff was equally welcoming, efficient and friendly. We would highly recommend Moontide to anyone for a truly exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 781 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2009

The quiet and quality of this b and b is something to behold. Maureen is a consummate hostess who personally oversees every requirement. Her recommendation for a local restaurant led us to one of our most memorable culinary experiences. We would not hesitate to return to the magic that is Moontide.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Maureen, the owner, is really a wonderful person, she is helping where ever she can, really taking care of her guests. Very helpful in arranging diners, excursions and your next stop-over guesthouses. She makes you feel at home. The moontide is beautifully located at the waterside. Well decorated rooms and very clean. Great breakfasts
Really great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaatje1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night while we were traveling in South Africa. Maureen and Renee were very welcoming and had great advice for dinner. We ate at The Girls--on their recommendation--and had a great dinner.

The first room that we were in (I can't remember the name) was very spacious and beautifully decorated in an African theme. There was a mix-up with another guest, who was unhappy with the size of her room, and we offered to switch. Our second room (the Boathouse) was right next to the lagoon and quite private. It was pretty small, however, and the decor was not as nice as the first room. Also, even though we switched to help out the B&B owners, they did not offer us even a small rate reduction as a thank you. Beside that minor quibble, our stay was great. Lovely homemade soap is provided in the bathrooms. There was also a very cute and very friendly pair of Siamese kittens who made themselves at home in our room (we invited them in) and kept us company. All in all, an enjoyable stay. I would recommend Moontide to anyone; just check out the photos of the different rooms on the website before you book.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickpea_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We found Moontide in our Fodor's traval guide after a long day of driving the Garden Route. We called after 7pm to see if they had any rooms available and they let us walk right into their "Treetop Room," which was amazing. Room was gorgeous and clean (literally situated like a treehouse), really nice bedding, large bathtub and outdoor shower were great as well. In the morning we sat on the deck overlooking the lagoon and drank coffee until breakfast (which was not only complimentary, but delicious!) I highly recommend Moontide if you're looking for a place to stay along the Garden Route. We didn't have time to go into town at all during our stay but Moontide was the perfect getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank onceuponalauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I booked this on the basis of the great reviews on this site.

Before I begin, I must mention that it is a clean and attractive venue and the breakfast is generous. However, your experience of this accommodation depends largely on the type of holiday you want.

To be frank, as lovely as Wilderness it, there is not a great deal going on. You either use it as a base to explore the rest of the garden route or you pick it, and specifically this establishment, as a place to just sit out on the patio and enjoy the view.

My holiday was the latter, and this is how the disappointment arose. The set up is as follows, the main deck area and common family room are situated next to the lagoon and the bungalows are scattered behind and around this area. My accomodation was in front of the deck.

Upon booking the accommodation I was never informed that a wedding would be taking place here during my stay. In fact, even upon arrival this was never mentioned nor were any apologies made for the inconvenience to other guests. We simply arrived for breakfast to the venue being set up on the deck and were later informed that we were not to come near the deck or common seating area.

I am certainly not of mind to ruin anyone’s wedding, but as a guest staying here it does mean that you are confined to your room for the day or forced to drive out to find something to do. This really defeated the purpose of booking here for a view of the lagoon area.

Book this accommodation on the basis of it being a place to sleep and not as a place to put your feet up and relax, then in the event that you do have the place to yourself it will just be a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Restless911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Wilderness is the sort of place you either love or you hate. The beach and the lagoon are lovely, but there is not much else to do in the town, so we treated it as a base for travelling up and down the Garden Route. We were there after some pretty bad storms, so the local trails were washed out. Moontide is an unusual property, and will appeal to the romantics. Our room was interesting (decor and artifacts), although could have done with a spruce up. Despite booking a reasonably long time in advance (7 months) we were not able to secure the room we wanted, so perhaps we were unfortunate, as the other rooms looked nicer than ours. We chose Moontide based on Viewtrip reviews. Breakfast was wonderful, especially if you can eat out overlooking the lagoon. The pool was too cold to consider despite it being very hot when we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awsculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
0.2 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 60 in Wilderness
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 60 in Wilderness
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 60 in Wilderness
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 60 in Wilderness
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Address: 444 Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $132 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing