We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #5 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I really liked the warm feeling received when I turned up for the night at Moontide. Great location, friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. The breakfast was also one of the best I've experienced in a while, especially the bacon! I hope to visiting again soon and thank you Moontide.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 788 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed in the romantic boat house which is a frog jump away from the water's edge. Tender loving care is visible everywhere in this lush quaint and cosy guest house in Wilderness: From the Egyptian cotton duvet covers to the heated towel rails, clove and cinnamon artisan soaps, fresh wood in the cosy fireplace and umbrella for rainy days. Canoes can be used by guests for a leisurely paddle up the beautiful lagoon and into the nature reserve (staff came down to assist with the canoes). The scrumptious breakfast is served on the deck overlooking the Wilderness lagoon on a sunny day. Healthy options are available too. Tim and Maureen have created a beautiful stylish paradise on Wilderness lagoon. Thank you! We will be back! Michaela | CapAfrique

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in this well appointed guest house with large rooms and beautiful furnishings. Lovely setting in good location to explore beginning of garden route and inland to the Swartberg Pass
etc. great hosts and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely way to start our Honeymoon with spectacular view, a room to die for, cute animals and staff that attended to our needs without us asking! A must see!!! Will recommend for all and we will visit again on our first anniversary! Absolutely loved our stay!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

beautiful location, charming room - we stayed in the recently expanded boathouse room - it's spacious, with a private deck right on the lagoon - highly recommended. Peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. excellent breakfast with lots to choose from. staff very friendly and helpful, especially with restaurant recommendations and reservations. will definitely stay here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jessican1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, had only intended on 1 while passing through. The room (Moondance) was great. The Manager (Tim) was very welcoming and helpful. The location on the lagoon was stunning, and we'd recommend taking one of the canoes at Moontide for a paddle. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandstink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Uniquely enchanting. Beautifully & tastefully appointed rooms. Walking distance to good dining. Delightful lagoon-side breakfast. Friendly, helpful, gracious service from George. Pool's adorable but small.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MJHall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 62 in Wilderness
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 62 in Wilderness
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 62 in Wilderness
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Address: 444 Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $102 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing