We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moontide Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #5 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went back. Service was excellent. Place is spotless. Love having my own private space. We stayed in Tree Tops and the cottage and last stay in the Boat House. Each room is unique. Lovely caring atmosphere, concern for your needs. Staff extremely polite. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Treetops and Boat House for the couples. Narrow pathway leads to both rooms. Both over look the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    130
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
139
427
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I were desperate for a little piece of heaven - and that's exactly what we found! Quiet, charming, elegant - Moontide hit all of these notes and then added on luxurious and friendly on top of it! By the time we left we were already trying to figure out when we could go again. A truly incredible place.

Room Tip: Each room is decorated differently - so check out each room's pictures before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were recommended this place by our guest house in Swellendam. And what a treat. My wife and I could only spend one night here as we were on the way to our game lodge. We heard so many things about Maureen, but unfortunately she was not there. Still I think this is exactly the level of privacy and fun we were expecting. A few niggling shower cleaning issues, but that's just a suggestion not a crit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the oversized family suite, and glad we had the extra room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our stay at Moontide was breathtaking!! From the moment we arrive there till the moment we had to Leave! We left there with great memories from the stunning view up to the excellent hospitality from Tim and the staff. We stayed in Moontide 1, everything neat and tidy, the breakfast was sitting outside on the terrace overlooking the lagoon , after breakfast we took the paddle boat and work of a few calories!! Stunning view from the lagoon. Will definitely be back, but this time for more than two days!!!

Room Tip: The Tree house and the Boat house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Moontide in the Moondance room. First off, we were in awe of the gorgeous setting of the guest house, in easy walking distance of the beach. Staying there was literally a home-from-home, where you are treated as a special friend. Our room was massive, there was a mini bar, oil-fin heater, a king-sized bed with electric blankets (great for the ensuing winter chills) and the superb bathroom with a corner bath and a shower. Every day the Manager, Tim, would make sure we had enough info or suggestions for our activities of the day. He would even book dinner reservations for us (most of the restaurants in the area are superb). The rest of the staff are professional and polite, and we will fondly remember the gent who served us a generous breakfast every morning with a smile. Moontide is a rare treat, and if you are thinking of a Garden Route holiday with amazing "going-the-extra-mile" service, choose Moontide - you will not be disappointed! I would go back in a heart-beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in Moondance, but I hear they are all excellent. We absolutely loved our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirtygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our stay at Moontide was definitely worth the money. We stayed for two nights in the Treetops Room, which has a balcony overlooking the lagoon, bringing a great relaxing atmosphere to the stay. The amenities were great and tidy. Breakfasts were substantial offering enough choices for each day.

Tim was a real gem, pleasant and accommodating, offering advice on local places and making sure our stay was pleasant.

Great staff as they were pleasant as well.

Definitely encourage a stay even if for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth-Aziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Maureen is a gem. And the place is magical. WIth so many places to choose from in Wilderness this is one of the best. Ask them about dinner options. Nice place in town called The Girls. We liked Moontide a lot and will return. Thanks to all the staff for a great time/.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#7 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Property: Moontide Guest House
Address: Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing