We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #5 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The moment we arrived, I could tell this was a healing, restorative place. Set on the canal/lagoon, it's ideal for wetlands lovers. We stayed in the Stone Cottage. I thought I would be disappointed that the treetop and boat house were booked, but it turned out that we loved the stone cottage and probably would have preferred it anyway. It was the best for us, because it is one of the only rooms where you can get the WiFi signal--and it was a great signal! Actually one of the best internet connections we've had in South Africa. The cottage felt luxurious, like our own private retreat. It is huge, and even has a second bedroom! The bathroom has both a large (honestly large) shower with a separate soaking tub. There are even two sinks for his/hers. The bedding is lovely. Decor is pan-African and very tasteful. The cottage has its own private courtyard with a little pond with frogs and a table and chairs to enjoy it all too. The night sounds from the frogs are magical. Some might not like them, but I love the sounds of frog croaks. There were no bugs in spite of being surrounded by wetlands. I can't say enough good about this place. It is truly ideal. Service is genuinely warm, friendly, personable, and professional. If you deserve a break, this is it! Also, they recommend super places to eat including the "Girls" restaurant in town. If you are foodies be sure to browse through the guest information booklet in your room for some very good tips throughout the Garden Route :-)

Room Tip: We loved the Stone Cottage, and it is the best room if you need good Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raincitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    132
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
153
444
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed in the Milkwood room and can recommend this to anyone any time. Has it's own little private courtyard. This is very conveniently situated in the garden route between Mosselbay and Knysna. Good choice of eating places within 3 km from Moontide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

On our Garden route trip we spent two nights in Wilderness. We stayed in the Moonshadow 2 room, witch has a very romy batchroom and a very good shower. Beds were also very good, but we like a firm bed. Not too much channels on the TV but you do not want to watch TV anyway.

We ate at the steak restaurant 1KM up the road. The manager took us there and arranged for the restaurant to bring us back so that we could enjoy our wine. What a service. Second day we enjoyed a round of golf at Kingswood (not the best in the area but still way better than the courses in Holland) and ate at Two Girls.

The only thing that could be better is the white wine in the minibar. It should be quite easy to find a better wine in South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I visited Moontide for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon. It was absolutely amazing. The views of the forest-flanked lagoon are nothing short of breathtaking. Tim, the manager, is super friendly and helpful - always ready to recommend activities in the area (and even make reservations for you) or even to give you an updaye of the cricket score! The rest of the staff are also friendly and capable. They also have canoes and paddleboats, which make for great (romantic) trips up and down the lagoon (We took a bottle of bubbly along).

Wilderness in general is absolutely beautiful, with the lagoon, beach and forests nearby.

The staff really go the extra mile. Totally worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimeyDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a fantastic setting. The "apartment" rooms overlook the lagoon and are spacious, airy and beautifully decorated. Our room was bright comfortable. We had a large bathroom with a walk in shower. There was a separate loo - great! The bed was enormous and very comfortable. There was the option of an electric blanket for when the nights get chilly. The setting for breakfast was overlooking the lagoon. There were plenty of excellent places to eat out in the evening including Serendipity and The Girls. We also drove up to see "Map of Africa", well worth it. The two women who showed us around were very helpful and we were lucky enough to see a young couple paragliding off the cliffs over the beautiful beach at Wilderness.

Room Tip: Our room was higher up than others and further away from the pond where the frogs make quite a noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misbehaviour999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and spent two nights in the somewhat secluded yet very romantic Tree Tops where we felt cocooned "on top of the world". Magnificent views of the lagoon together with plentiful birdsong from the surrounding Milkwood trees makes for a superbly tranquil atmosphere where we were happy simply to laze about and linger on the deck with a book and a glass of wine for hours on end. The outside shower is refreshing and novel, perfect for balmy wind-free days or evenings. Apart from the ceiling fan which was somewhat squeaky and the bar fridge struggling to keep its cool in an unventilated cabinet, we had a most enjoyable stay. Yes, Moontide is well worth a repeat visit in the future!

Room Tip: Tree Tops is situated higher up on the property and accessible only by climbing a fair number of rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent a really relaxing 5 days here.

Each booking is a separate thatched cottage on the edge of the lagoon. The staff are friendly. You are made welcome and are helped with what ever activities you decide to do, whether sitting on the beach or travelling up the Garden Route. Your booking will be made for you my the staff.

All the local restaurants are known (and are good!)

Recommended and not just for a 1 night stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#8 of 56 in Wilderness
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Property: Moontide Guest House
Address: 444 Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing