We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST on the Garden Route” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moontide Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #5 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST on the Garden Route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

beautiful and spacious rooms, nicely decorated; breakfast outside with river view. one of the best guesthouses we stayed at in South Africa

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelK891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    130
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
140
429
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

So comfortable, so relaxing, such beautiful surrounding!
Everything done there with great thought and even better taste.
We were there with our kids, and wish we could come here also on our own because it's so romantic.
We felt comfortable right from the beginning. As soon as we arrived our kids went for a ride on the pedal boat.
Go to the steakhouse that Maurreen will recommend to you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rutiarazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous venue. Breathtaking views. Good, friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phasmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on our SA honeymoon and loved it. We stayed in stone cottage and although it was rustic, charming and private, the constant presence of large (harmless spiders) was an annoyance. We have stayed in other thatch style accomodation without spiders and cobwebs, so we do have a comparison. The service was excellent and the location perfect. The rooms are all different and decorated perfectly. The breakfast was filling and tasty but the coffee could be improved and the cheese a little less frozen. We have no real issues and would recommend moon tide to couples, or families.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cndhoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M00ntide, Owner at Moontide Guest House, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
I am always so delighted when my guests profess to have had a wonderful stay, so many thanks. Just a note on the spiders - we are in an eco-friendly environment, surrounded by natural vegetation, including our 400-year-old Milkwood trees. As part of the ecology, spiders (as you mention, all of them harmless) are seen at odd times. This should not be a problem as we remove them on sight (and are especially attendant to guests who mention they are phobic). If we are not asked, there is also insect spray available in each room. As for the coffee and cheese, we will endeavour to improve this and thank you sincerely for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

En route up the Garden Route from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth we stopped for the night at this lovely place next to the river in Wilderness. The welcome was super friendly and the rooms very comfortable. They booked us for what turned out to be an excellent dinner and their breakfast was delicious. We went on our way refreshed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenFlesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

The owner and the staff are all friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great and healthy. They offer a lot of choices. Don't hesitate to ask for tips on places to see and where to eat. The manager has great tips and will even make reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

After one or two ealier disapointments on our journey along the Garden Route how wonderful to find a little utopia in Moontide. Maureen and her team have something very special and her attention to detail and providing such a high standard was a welcome surprise. Add to this her very personal and helpful service in guiding us around the local attractions and restaurants was an added bonus. Thank you Maureen for the Moontide experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Property: Moontide Guest House
Address: Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing