We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moontide Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveler rating
611
143
28
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
143
28
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone cottagethe riverboat housepatio overlooking the lagoongarden routeoutdoor showerwilderness lagoonguest houseour honeymoontwo nightslovely placebeautiful settinglocal restaurantsenjoyed our staydelicious breakfaststayed longera real treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
627 - 632 of 798 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed for a weekend in the Moonshadow suite two which is large and spacious. The location is lovely, near the river and near the beach. The prices are very reasonable and seem below what the competition was offering. The breakfasts by the river are wonderful (particularly the small muffins made by Judge!), and the service was excellent. Easily recommended.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank MolloyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked for two nights in Moonshadow !, which was beautiful and comfortable and felt fortunate to be able to stay another two. The second two were in the Boathouse, which although smaller we liked even better because of its intimacy, privacy and wonderful light. The breakfast on the patio was terrific in quality and the terrace itself. We also recognised that if the weather had been less good, the inside lounge and dining would be a fie alternative.

The real essence of a guest house like this is the host. Maureen was perfect, her personal style like that of the house style tasteful, helpful, knowledgeable and sound in her judgement on restaurants and other facilities in Wilderness and beyond. If we come back to South Africa, and we intend to, we will be back

Iain More and Pam Siler, Edinburgh, Scotland

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Moontide is 200m down a quiet lane off the major highway which is the N3 Garden Route. It could be another world. There is the lagoon, an infinitely quiet waterway, with a few houses on the other side and then a great cliff covered with verdant forest. Sea birds cruise over the still waters and little brown jobs chatter in the reeds. The rooms are all individual, all extraordinarily comfortable, all housing the owner's personal collection of local art. Paintings cover the walls, every corner has a piece of sculpture, yet it all hangs together without dominating. A carafe of port awaits you, to give a lift to your arrival. The cupboards are spacious, the bathroom enviable, the bed enormous, the television discreet. We ate at a restaurant recommended by Maureen, our hostess, and she phoned ahead and reserved a place for us - so we were welcomed like royalty when we arrived. A wonderful warm night's rest under a featherlight duvet, and we were up at dawn lusting for breakfast. It was all we could have asked for - fresh, ripe fruit; delicious cereals; a cooked breakfast with the bacon requested crisp and arriving crisper; the sun rising over the waters of the lagoon, and warm outside even in mid-winter; and a thermos of the freshest coffee imaginable. All too soon we were on our way, with Maureen no longer the gracious hostess, but a friend to whom we shall return whenever we can.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Nutty-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We absolutely loved this place. We stayed in the Tree Tops sweet as it was our honeymoon. Our wooden cabin was out of this world and we had amazing views over the lagoon. Both Maureen and Rene were fantastic and gave us all the prevacy we wanted but where there whenever we needed them. The pedal boat is a great touch and we loved viewing the bird life. We felt that it was great value for money and was infact better than the other spots we stayed at whilst on Honeymoon.
We highly recommend this place!
Damian and Janine Wrigley ( Cape Town )

Room Tip: Book Tree tops if a couple
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamianWrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The Moontide Lodge, in the town of Wilderness, is along the Garden Route, it isn't however a natural stopping point, which is a shame, because it should be! The beautifully designed and decorated rooms are all contained in small, thatched cottages, but the modest outside quickly gives way to luxurious and opulent inside... This is what can be called "safari chic" and the hosts and the staff are going out of their way to make you feel comfortable.... If I had more time on my trip, I could have easily imagined staying for 3 to 4 days, just to enjoy this little tucked- away gem....

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertPierreT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews