We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilltop Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Reviewed November 16, 2007

We stayed here for two nights on a garden route tour. The views as you walked out from the lounge and looked over the fantastic gardens was breathtaking. Hennie, our host, was very hospitable and advised us on restaurants and booked them for us. As far as I can see there is nothing average about this place. The attention to detail everywhere is outstanding, even down to providing a cloth to wipe the balcony tables and chairs if they got wet, plus a fly swatter in the room - a leather one at that. Pool towels are provided and the breakfast was wonderful and beautifully presented. The only downside of this place is that there is no restaurant on site, but they allow full use of the dining room facilities, complete with a microwave. We even had a decanter with sherry for a late night drink (free!). I would certainly recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank Sagalouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2016

Sorry for only responding now to your review! Thanks so much!!
I must admit I did not know how this Tripadvisor story works!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 42 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed for a few nights at Hilltop and agree that it has the most stunning view of the beach and mountains - just glorious especially as we first saw it at sunset.

The host, Hennie, was very hospitable and the breakfasts served were incredibly filling: fresh fruit and everything you would find in a continental breakfast plus a hot meal.

The property has a nice pool with surrounding deck and a braii (BBQ) you can use. We took advantage of this during our stay and had a lot of fun; they prepare all the tools for you (save for the food itself) and made it easy on us.

The guesthouse has a DVD collection and a laptop always available for internet access, as well as an honor bar.

The George mall is maybe a 10 minute drive from Hilltop and has just about everything you might need and there are a number of great hiking trails not too far away, as well as the beach at Victoria Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Merkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2016

Sorry for only responding now to your review! Thanks so much!!
I must admit I did not know how this Tripadvisor story works!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

Amazing views over Wilderness. About 10km from George a few km from Victoria bay (best option for swimming) and a short drive to Wilderness. Own car a must. Massive garden and own steep walk down to the sea. We stayed in a large family room, with another bedroom upstairs. Lovely breakfast. No dinner available or bar on site. Staff friendly enough. Nice small pool.
The view is what really sells the place, in my opinion. Overlooking the beach at Wilderness, Wilderness village, the lakes, the mountains behind it and the (now not in use) Outeniqua Choo Choo train track. Everything else was of an average to good standard. Pleasant place to stay for a tranquil getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MMIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank claudine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Florian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite ist toll
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magda S, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
679 reviews
11.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
358 reviews
1.6 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Country Lodge

Address: PO Box 12002, Garden Route Mall, George, 6546 | Victoria Bay Heights, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range: $133 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilltop Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hilltop Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing