We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Guest Lodge - Beautiful Location on the Beach”
Review of Dune Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dune Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning Guest Lodge - Beautiful Location on the Beach”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of spending 2 wonderful nights at The Dune Guest lodge in Wilderness. What a stunning place to stay! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home by our host Gary. The house is located right on the beach front and to be woken up by the sound of the sea outside our window was amazing! The best location we stayed in during our 3 week trip to SA. The house is beautifully decorated with a warm and homely feel. Gary is a dab hand in the kitchen and presents a scrumptious breakfast with superb service to boot. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and all the help that Gary gave us on the surronding attractions. .We highly recommend a stay in The Dune and will always remember our stay with fond memories.....If you are looking for an exquisite dinning experience then you have to try Serendipity restaurant in Wilderness. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shell room which has amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    42
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
247
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband, niece and I selected this B&B using a tour guide book. We literally parked in their driveway and asked for a room. We got a gorgeous oceanview room - impeccably clean and spacious. It was off season, so the price was great too. It was incredible. The host had a fire in the common room where we sat and visited. The host recommended a great restaurant nearby which the locals frequented. We were able to use the kitchen area, free wifi and a huge bathroom an shower. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a great guest lodge overlooking a lovely beach. Rooms are clean, bright and well equipped. The lounge area is spacious and comfortable and there is a charming courtyard.
Gary and his wife are affable hosts and happy to stop for a chat or suggest local restaurants.
Breakfast is excellent with both cold and cooked options. The fruit platter was outstanding.
The accommodation is quiet and well maintained. I would recommend a stay here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Book early this is popular guest lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snippetthewhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We booked a number of different places for our trip across the Western Cape this year and this was our favourite by far. Superb location, spectacular view and very welcoming hosts. Booked us in to recommended restaurants that were excellent and lot of other good suggestions for things to do during our stay. Great breakfast too - excellent pancakes and fresh fruit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Having decided on the spur of the moment to book a weekend away in Wilderness, my husband and I weren't sure what to expect from The Dunes or from Wilderness itself, but we were blown away by both. What a lovely guest house and the hospitality we received there was excellent. It's in the perfect position to walk along the stunning beach and I don't think i've felt so relaxed in months. The lodge is beautiful, the views amazing and the breakfast delicious. We absolutely loved it and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliefrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I'm a very fussy customer

Superb location, superb premises, superb service.
Really nice to have the propietor actually fronting the house, checking you in, cooking breakfast and being an available point of contact.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

"Could our stay even be better then last times?" was the question on our mind. Well it was! We had a more than excellent time with Gary but also with the other guest during breakfast. We are memorizing great hospitality, humor and the oceanview.

Then we have not even started discussing the breakfast itself. We loved it, fresh fruits, pancakes and the homebaked bread. Then there are the rooms and the sound of the ocean, it is relaxing while sitting on the deck.

If you are into golf it is perfect, all championship courses are in the direct area (Pezula, Oubaai, Fancourt, Pinnacle Point and George). Scores can be shared at the breakfast table and Gary will coach you trough a bad day of play. In our case this was 'ofcourse' not needed as their where only winners these days...

If you are not into golf, then there is Wilderness with nature, farmers markets and really good restaurants. Ask Gary for excellent advise. All in all it is not a one day stop at the Dunes Guest lodge as you can see.

We regret leaving, but we'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are up to par. Can't go wrong whatever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
658 reviews
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Guest Lodge

Property: Dune Guest Lodge
Address: 31 Die Duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Wilderness Beach, one of the world's most beautiful beaches, with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean, the Dune Guest Lodge provides a rare taste of paradise. Our guest lodge is a refreshingly informal beach house, with direct access to the endless Wilderness Beach. Whales and dolphins can be viewed directly from your private sundeck, or from the deck at the poolside where our private swimming pool sparkles invitingly in the warm sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dune Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Guest Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing