We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location. Best beach ever.”
Review of Dune Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dune Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding location. Best beach ever.”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for two nights and had one of the best stays of our great SA holiday. Gary is a great host in this quiet lodge. We enjoyed the magnificent breakfasts and had two rooms on ground floor level above the beach.

Impeccably clean, this place is somewhere we have got to go back to. Wilderness itself has a great feel, and we really loved our stay. I can still close my eyes and hear the crash of the waves, and the great show put on by whales playing in front of our balconies.

Room Tip: Got to be ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 394Peter_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    42
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
247
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Dune is in possibly the best location in Wildnerness, right on the beach. We couldn't get enough of the view of the ocean, it really is mesmorising! The guest lodge is beautifully decorated in a beach-house style with huge rooms (ours was more of a 1 bed flat than a hotel room with a kitchen/living room downstairs and a bedroom upstairs) kitted out with everything you could possibly need. The room led straight out onto a private deck area overlooking the beach and we took full advantage of walks on the sand after breakfast every morning. The breakfasts are delicious (and huge again) with platters of frest fruit, pancakes as well as cooked food. Gary (the owner) was very friendly and gave us plenty of tips for places to visit and where to eat in Wilderness in the evening (we went out of season but still had a great time, try the Pomodoro in the village for yummy pizzas). This really must be one of the best guest lodges in the whole of South Africa!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Wilderness itself is a wonderful place and we were lucky to choose a perfect guest house there. The owners were very friendly and helpful , breakfast was delicious and big (pancakes, fruits, yogurts , eggs , sausages) and was very good decorated, our room was beautiful with a huge bathroom! We really enjoyed our stay and were very sorry to leave it.
Ocean in Wilderness was warmer than in Knysna and we spent the hole day swimming ! ( don't know why, these places are really close to each other). We saw a lot of dolphins from our balcony-terrace.
Definitely will stay in "Die Dune" again and longer!!!
And one more advise - visit for dinner "The Girls" ( or girls). Don't be afraid of it's location, food and atmosphere is fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga_M0sc0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I spent nine days in this incredible lovely guesthouse. My room overlooked a garden and out my door was a private patio on the Indian Ocean.It was a room that w as difficult to leave. The owner, Gary, cooked fantastic breakfasts each morning, and had a wonderful way of engaging with you in conversation and yet staying at a respectful distance.It overlooked an immaculate beach.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at The Dune after first arriving in South Africa and it was a great place to be. We had two rooms and one of the rooms had a kitchen/sitting area downstairs which was fantastic. Both rooms had wonderful views of the Indian Ocean with decking areas for sitting out and relaxing. The accommodation was immaculate and comfortable and the service was excellent. We really enjoyed the breakfasts which were leisurely and delicious - but not designed for those in a rush! This a great place to relax and explore this part of the Garden route. We visited the Cangoo caves which were great and enjoyed the Trolly Train from George up into the mountains. But the real joy of The Dune is the glorious beach just a few steps from your room!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrecktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

If anyone is thinking of staying here...... dont hesitate, we had 2 rooms, the Africa room with a garden and the Shell room with stunning sea views...... The breakfast was outstanding and the short walk down the steps to the beach and that sound of the ocean was fantastic. The welcome and attention to detail right down to beach towels and bats and balls for the beach in a basket in the wardrobe was a delight. Gary is very informative and helpful. As I say dont hesitate, you wont be disappointed we will def stay again next time we visit SA.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We were at Dune Guest Lodge for 4 nights in early October and very much enjoyed our stay. The lodge is sited on a hill above the beach and we had a very large and comfortably-appointed room with huge floor-to-ceiling windows looking straight out on to a pristine beach and the ocean. Immediately outside our room was a large private deck equipped with sunloungers enjoying the same, spectacular view.

Breakfasts were of a very good standard and included fresh juice, pancakes, individual platters of freshly-sliced fruit and eggs cooked to order. Gary, the owner and excellent breakfast chef, was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#8 of 56 in Wilderness
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Guest Lodge

Property: Dune Guest Lodge
Address: 31 Die Duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Wilderness Beach, one of the world's most beautiful beaches, with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean, the Dune Guest Lodge provides a rare taste of paradise. Our guest lodge is a refreshingly informal beach house, with direct access to the endless Wilderness Beach. Whales and dolphins can be viewed directly from your private sundeck, or from the deck at the poolside where our private swimming pool sparkles invitingly in the warm sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dune Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Guest Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing