We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hangout here on Sundays”
Review of Bongos

Bongos
Ranked #11 of 30 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Join us at Bongos Bar & Pizzeria in Wilderness, near George, South Africa. It's the perfect place for locals and tourists alike to hang out after a day of work, travel or adventure in the Western Cape. Our pizza's are known for their thin, crispy base and abundance of fresh and tasty toppings and we are locally famous for our "Speciality" pizza range with toppings like Lamb and Pulled Pork. As the only bar in Wilderness we are open the latest so come and enjoy our relaxed and friendly atmosphere and you might just get involved in one awesome party! Bongos is perfect for birthday drinks, or special occasions so please contact us if you would like to make a booking. Open Hours Winter: Monday & Tuesday - CLOSED Wednesday - Friday 15:00 till late night. Saturday & Sunday 12:00 till late night.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great little bar which is well frequented by locals and so, if you're alone, could be a little alienating; but very personal and friendly bar staff. Sunday session well attended and live music. Great vibey place to hang. A definite to check out if you're in Wilderness. Entrance out of the way so if you can't find it, ask a local ... they'll know where to point you.

Thank SoozSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongos_1, Owner at Bongos, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hi, Thank you very much for the great feed back!
Also thank you for making us aware of the possible "little alienating" experience.

Our policy and tradition is that everybody is welcomed with love, especially individual travelers and all should feel comfortable as they are in our space.

Hope to see you again in South Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found the toppings on my pizza were NOT fresh. It was very disappointing and i will not eat there again.

1  Thank f0reverfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongos_1, Owner at Bongos, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Oh my.. This is very unfortunate and never happened in the past as we always ensure that all toppings are fresh. I will message you private to find out when and what pizza you had and if you took it up with management. It could/might have been sorted before anything leading to you dissatisfaction and subsequent harsh negative feedback. I do which to apologize and please give me a change to have you back for a free meal at a time most convenient to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wow what an experience! Pizzas are amazing and the staff are absolutely incredible! Will definately reccomend it. I will make it a point to always pop in to either say hello or have a glass of sangria.

Thank Nastassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been going back to Bongos for about 7 years, to visit our friends, and every time has been memorable, from the delicous seafood pizza, the service from people that make you feel part of the family, and the music when there is a theme night.......wish we could get the same vibe in Pretoria!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Lennard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

More for young people that wants to go out to club. Food not bad but not everyones cupp of tea. Not very clean and seating uncomfordable.

Thank EstedeVilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongos also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Bongos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing