We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Bongo Bomb”
Review of Bongos

Bongos
Ranked #11 of 30 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Join us at Bongos Bar & Pizzeria in Wilderness, near George, South Africa. It's the perfect place for locals and tourists alike to hang out after a day of work, travel or adventure in the Western Cape. Our pizza's are known for their thin, crispy base and abundance of fresh and tasty toppings and we are locally famous for our "Speciality" pizza range with toppings like Lamb and Pulled Pork. As the only bar in Wilderness we are open the latest so come and enjoy our relaxed and friendly atmosphere and you might just get involved in one awesome party! Bongos is perfect for birthday drinks, or special occasions so please contact us if you would like to make a booking. Open Hours Winter: Monday & Tuesday - CLOSED Wednesday - Friday 15:00 till late night. Saturday & Sunday 12:00 till late night.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is the Bongo Bomb”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Good Food, Great social atmosphere and for a party vibe this is the place to hang out. Watch sport and have an ice cold beer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoseBilbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongos_1, Owner at Bongos, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thanks for the great review and feedback. We look forward to our next special event: "Once in a Blue Moon"

Love

Bongos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Does a fairly good pizza, not bad . Nice a cheap if on a budget .

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Macmich78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bongos_1, Owner at Bongos, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for the feedback!

Love

Bongos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“good late night out for any age group”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Go here for drinks and people and traffic watching look out for the trouble makers in the area (not in the pub/restaurant)late at night. The Chilly Poppers and Pizzas are really good

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank payback21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Viva La Pizza!!!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were a large crowd, service was good and we tasted the best pizzas ever!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kay884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza...”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

It was awesome! I never liked thin base pizzas but this pizza was seriously on par... crispy, amazing base ... mmm... and their cocktails are seriously legit!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jovana_Sumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongos also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Bongos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing