We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired hotel - just needs a wake-up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wilderness Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tired hotel - just needs a wake-up!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We agree with the previous reviewer about the "tired"-ness of the hotel. Although the hotel was very quiet, we were not offered a renovated room - the one we had was clean but I think all the fittings were the same as when we stayed in the (then) Holiday Inn some 30 years ago. Breakfast was very ordinary: the hot water for tea and coffee was lukewarm, the toaster belongs in a museum and the staff would look rather more professional if they took their coats off!
We had a package deal that included dinner, but this was a very sad experience - it was served in the draughty and barn-like bar; the food was very dull and greasy, including overcooked veggies, lumpy gravy and chocolate mousse clearly from a packet. (Poor food is NOT made posh with "sprinkles" or by dusting the plate generously with paprika!)
We also gave up and ate at The Views (across the car-park) and "The Girls" in the village - both highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated one with a sea view. Don't bother with dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    35
    29
    64
See reviews for
68
54
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The view is breathtaking, which is the primary reason to stay here. The walk down the cliff to the beautiful, wild beach is an invigourating hike; you could stay there all day, it is that mesmerizing. The hotel was undergoing much needed renovation during our stay; the good news is that the renovated rooms are first class all the way, just be sure to ask for one (the upper floors were addressed first, apparently). :) The price was very reasonable for an ocean view (a lovely breakfast was also included!) and the staff very courteous and professional; one of the managers even gladly allowed me the use of her office computer to respond to some business e-mails that my ipad was struggling with for some reason (the lobby computer was out of service during our stay). I would be remiss if I did not mention that "The Views" restaurant is a only a brief walk across the knoll; it is one of the most scenic dining experiences you will ever have, and the food and service are exquisite. In short, stay at the Pearl, walk to beach, dine at "The Views".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradfield,Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Staff very pleasant, room was clean. The place had a tired feeling about it, its old and needs updating. We were there for valentines night, we ate in the restaurant and although that appeared tired too the food was amazing, we had the set menu and it was very cheap and definitely great value for money. Service in the hotel was good. Breakfast good. If the hotel gets a facelift it would earn 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahlia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

These people know nothing about how their own terms work, servoce is shocking from both hotel manager and headvoffice. Booking #3381. I wont recomend anyone here as you will not get service here. I paid, cancelled, and did not get my money back. It took me 12 phone calls to get a response from this place, all i got was terrible service and did not get my money back. Well done, you lost a customer and i will not be reccomending anyone here in future. Evan Ackerman 074 825 3356

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evanackerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilderness hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed at the Wilderness beach hotel "[pearl of wilderness" in Feb 2013, really great experience, staff very friendly and happy to assist in any way,

breakfast really nice also, and very close to all attractions Wilderness has o offer,

only downfalls that the rooms are bit old but i believe they are renovating them ,

Room Tip: All Rooms have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pranels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I did my annual holiday visit to The Beach Hotel, and must add that I was welcomed back by the friendly staff, William, and Mr Louw at the Front Desk, Amazing people. The General Manager, Mr Zander was also very friendly, and made time out of his busy schedule to welcome me, also Mr Zander is very helpful, and could assist with anything I needed to make my stay as memorable as possible.A real Gem to The Pearl of Wilderness.
I also met the Chef, Eric, who also added value to my stay.
Room attendants and Service was excellent. The Food was Great, Tidyness i will give a high Five, and Service, outstanding.
Well Done eveyrone!!!!
I will go visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outandaboutKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

went there 17 Dec 2012 to 24 Dec. The hotel is situated perfectly, but they were busy renovatingthe place why in December at their busiest time of the year i really dont know maybe just bad planning. my room was on the ground floor right by the green pool which three days later they only started to try and get blue...i know it is sea water in the pool but im sure you can get it blueish. house keeping sucks as by 12 am to 2 pm your room is still not made up untill you throw your toys out hte cot and then they will come and do house keeping.Breakfast is good and there is everything you need but when scramled eggs are finished dont ask for more you get a reply "FINISHED" all in all the hotel is fine but hopefully when they have finished revamping all will work and be ok.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for any room which the aircon works. mine sounded like a Harvard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
2.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
665 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Beach Hotel

Property: Wilderness Beach Hotel
Address: N 2 Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilderness Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wilderness Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing