We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our visit at Cocomo”
Review of Cocomo Restaurant

Cocomo Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Wilderness
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cocomo Restaurant is situated in the centre of a beautiful village called Wilderness - the heart of the Garden Route. Cocomo as a unique thematic embellishment drew inspiration directly from the spectacular beauty of our natural surroundings and setting it provides for the local residents, national and international travellers alike. This concept restaurant truly captures the tropical sentiment ideal for optimum relaxation, an intimate haven ideal to share and enjoy the pleasures of life. At Cocomo Restaurant visitors are able to experience an eclectic mix of tropical village lifestyle and flavourful cuisine, reflecting the dynamic aesthetic of Wilderness, its unspoiled beauty and the vibrant colourful atmosphere created by its people. Cocomo is inspired by our passion and appreciation for places that reflect a lively, relaxed and festive spirit all year around, providing a distinct atmosphere while offering tropical fusion foods, exceptional Illy coffee and of course some of the finest South African wine. Local artists also often enjoy performing at Cocomo due to the idyllic environment incomparable for musical entertainment and joyous get-togethers. Cocomo is very popular and alluring to the public in its warm, friendly, relaxed, cozy and visually pleasing nature. It further lends itself to a focused approach in cherished relations with customers, providing affordable products of high quality and fine presentation, paired with outstanding service in our strive towards realizing customer satisfaction every time.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our visit at Cocomo”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This past weekend we visited Cocomo restaurant, The service was slow but acceptable, the vibe was average a bit noisy, the food was average, I would say this is more a hangout for young people going for a drink.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocomo R, Owner at Cocomo Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi guys, please accept my apologies for receiving slow service. The service in Cocomo Restaurant should always be prompt and attentive, seeing to your needs in an appropriate manner and timing! We focus very hard on only delivering the best all round experience for our guests, young and old! We have put a lot of time and effort in creating our new menu (live from December 2013) to ensure only the best quality products get used to create an amazing dining experience.

We welcome young and old from all over the world on a daily basis!

Our restaurant also has 5 different sections to suit everyone’s needs. We have our courtyard area which is closest to the live music and thus a little bit “louder”, our inside dining area with a view of the stage, dining area with bigger tables for groups as well as a couple of cosy small tables for the romantic, an under roof deck area also with a view of the stage and our front street café deck (furthest away from the live music) where you can watch the village life go bey.

I always communicate this through to my staff to make sure that guests are comfortable where they are sitting, if not, we have a spot for you to feel at ease.
Hope to see you soon for a great meal and amazing live music!

Keep well

Cocomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    194
    61
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Cocomo is great! There you can watch sport, have a romantic date, eat out with the family, have a jol or just enjoy a couple of cold beers with the boys. Young and Old(er) people are equally welcomed and can both enjoy the Cocomo experience. The food is good, the service is friendly, the prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is perfect. They also have great cocktails (and cocktail specials!) and there is often live music. If you are staying in Wilderness for any length of time, I would recommend you 'like' their Facebook page so you can be kept updated with the live entertainment schedules and great specials. Give Cocomo a try.... you WILL NOT regret it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Order the Pokoloko Pizza”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Dining options include: roofed, open sided deck, enclosed inside or tree-shaded court yard. Feels intimate in each area and is a haunt for locals for a bevvy and to eat. Great place to listen to tunes and relax. Great pizzas. Great staff. Free wifi.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoozSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get there fast then take it slow....”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Cocomo's where you wanna go when you're in Wilderness. It has amazing food, the best local vibe and awesome live music, not to mention the tropical paradise decor! BEST MEMORIES. Grateful it exists. Thanks to all who make it alive!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I liked the vibe of the place. There were obviously a lot of regulars but we never felt out of place. The pizza was very good and the waitress very friendly. She forgot about us a bit after the place got a bit crowded so our last orders took a while.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candyb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocomo Restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Cocomo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing