We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vibey restaurant with live music”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocomo Restaurant

Cocomo Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Wilderness
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cocomo Restaurant is situated in the centre of a beautiful village called Wilderness - the heart of the Garden Route. Cocomo as a unique thematic embellishment drew inspiration directly from the spectacular beauty of our natural surroundings and setting it provides for the local residents, national and international travellers alike. This concept restaurant truly captures the tropical sentiment ideal for optimum relaxation, an intimate haven ideal to share and enjoy the pleasures of life. At Cocomo Restaurant visitors are able to experience an eclectic mix of tropical village lifestyle and flavourful cuisine, reflecting the dynamic aesthetic of Wilderness, its unspoiled beauty and the vibrant colourful atmosphere created by its people. Cocomo is inspired by our passion and appreciation for places that reflect a lively, relaxed and festive spirit all year around, providing a distinct atmosphere while offering tropical fusion foods, exceptional Illy coffee and of course some of the finest South African wine. Local artists also often enjoy performing at Cocomo due to the idyllic environment incomparable for musical entertainment and joyous get-togethers. Cocomo is very popular and alluring to the public in its warm, friendly, relaxed, cozy and visually pleasing nature. It further lends itself to a focused approach in cherished relations with customers, providing affordable products of high quality and fine presentation, paired with outstanding service in our strive towards realizing customer satisfaction every time.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
186 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Vibey restaurant with live music”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The restaurant was well patronised with holiday makers enjoying the live music and cocktails. It was quite noisy but that was part of the vibe. The service was average with long waits for drinks orders and food (they had run out of ice) and the food was average.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocomo R, Owner at Cocomo Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. I do apologise for the long wait on food and drinks. Please keep in mind that December is our peak season and that our area gets flooded with holiday makers, so much that the Western Cape ran out of ice! Not only us… I know it’s hard to believe but it’s true. I was inspired when designing our menu with my chef and that is the way you should feel when presented to you. Service should be excellent and nothing less and that is what I expect form my staff.
Having said that, I invite you to come experience Cocomo Restaurant the way I believe it to be. Excellent 
Till next time… Keep well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    193
    58
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best !”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently visited this restaurant and 3 out of 4 of us had the hake & chips. All 3 of us agreed that this was the best hake & chips that we have ever eaten in a restaurant anywhere ! It was outstanding !!! The 4 th in our party had the Moroccan Chicken which was also excellent ! On top of this the presentation was also excellent and the price reasonable !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatecrasher373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a great dinner at cocomo while in wilderness recently. The stuffed calimari was innovative and divine. The ribs were tasty but having eaten competition BBQ in the USA, they were not the best in the world as the sign said : ). Either way the food was really really good. The service was a bit slow for us, as we were starving and not looking for long relaxed dining experience. Definitely worth a stop!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeysBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great place”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Brilliant service, great food, chilled atmosphere, good entertainment. Was recommended to us by some locals so we popped in on a Friday night. Service was excellent and they had live entertainment on (soft rock acoustic) which was very good. We had a really good night. It is a jeans and t shirt kind of place though so don't go if you want something fancy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
1 review
“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Well done to Cocomo Restaurant for creating a very authentic island atmosphere. From sitting under a beautiful old tree in a plant filled garden, next to a welcoming outdoor fireplace, listening to some mellow local musician strut his stuff and some banter from interesting and colorful locals, while the delicious smells from the kitchen/pizza oven drift through the warm night air, mmmm... The staff were friendly and attended to all our needs without fail. Ice cold beers, cocktail specials, pizza with fig, blue cheese and Italian ham (add extra avo and rocket!) and my personal favorite starter, Tom Yum Soup! Keep up the good work Cocomo! Can't wait to come back! One Love

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocomo Restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Cocomo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing