We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Horse Trails

Black Horse Trails
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At the base of the majestic Outeniqua mountains in the Wilderness, lies our little charming horse ranch, Black Horse Trails. Our rides venture into the forests and mountains from a 1.5 hour trail, 3 hour trails, sun downer trails, full moon trails, full day trails to a 2 day overnight trail. We have suitable steeds for any level of experience you may or may not have on a horses back, everyone is welcome! Although for our day trips and 2 day trip riders need to be experienced. Please visit our website to see all our options and prices (which are very reasonable).
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I roped my partner into horse riding with me and I'm so glad I chose black horse trails. The horses are beautiful, Lyndsay was a great guide and made my partner who is slightly horse shy feel very comfortable. We had a great morning exploring the forest on the horses. I would recommend this experience to anyone in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rere_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    17
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horseride experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had lovely horseride, Lindsey is a lovely hostess and made our experience just perfect. We are both novices, so we just plodded along enjoying the company and views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mazadoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to do it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

After plenty of backwards and forwards, time and date changes by my indecisive friends, I eventually managed to get to Black Horse Trails on the last day of my holiday.
Lindsay was incredibly accommodating and despite the threatening weather took us on a magical trail through the indigenous forests of Wilderness.
The trail was the perfect length, with plenty of opportunity to trot and canter (for the more experienced of us), with a perfect stop at the river.
Her horses were calm and experienced, and what impressed me the most was that her horses were incredibly responsive, without a bit! (so no sore mouths!)
I highly recommend this trail, it's great value for money, and the staff are easy, friendly and super patient.

I will definitely be going back the next chance I get!

thank you for the awesome experience!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KAPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very positive experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Woops, this is not in fact the horse riding company I was thinking of, I cannot vouch for them, sorry

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamsyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serenity Seeker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A few days ago, I had the honour of experiencing a three hour ride on my last day in the Wilderness. The trail is about 18km long and the absolute highlight for me was riding silently through the indigenous lush serene forest. A quick dip in the river at the waterfall pitstop and then back through the forests again. The horses are well behaved and majestic. Lyndsay (owner) was very accomodating and patient. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RayCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Horse Trails also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Black Horse Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing