We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View exceeds food, which exceeds service”
Review of Views Restaurant

Views Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 30 Restaurants in Wilderness
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“View exceeds food, which exceeds service”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Spectacular setting right on the beach with 180 seaview - for inside and outside seating. Basic menu (which incl kids menu) and average food. Friendly but sloooooow service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    52
    26
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
“Extremely dissapointed”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

After trying almost all of the restaurants in Wilderness during our stay I have to say this was abusolutly TERRIBLE we were there from 6:45 until 9:15 when we walked out due to the fact we had not seen out waitress more that 3 times and we had not even eater yet! The view is awesome but once the sun goes down you start noticing that you have not been able to eat! Very big let down but such a highly regarded name! This was also after we had been told that we could not sit outside because it was fully booked but up till that time we left there was only one table occupied!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome view- good food- glacially slow service”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I really am never one to give bad feedback but these people were seriously so slow. Our food was really yummy, but every single thing from getting the menus to getting served to getting drinks to getting the bill took literally at least 5 times as long as it should. The waiters were super friendly, and it was really not even half full so I don't know why it took so long. My advice: if you have the chance- go- the view is spectacular! But know ahead of time it is super slow and try to not get irritated like we did- accept it and embrace the view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank insertquirkyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWANSEA, WALES
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunset Supper”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great restaurant with beautiful views ideal for a sunset meal. Food was great and excellent value for money.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank GUYSwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“How to mess up a good evening”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a meal planned as a treat for my mother-in-law. Despite having pre-booked and having received an email to confirm there was no table avasilable in the restaurant. After a great deal of argument the manager eventually found us a table in a different part of the hotel. After all that the meal was not particularly memorable but the service was!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Views Restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Views Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing