We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Ranked #22 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“So beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We loved our brief stay here. Beautiful location, gorgeous rooms-amazing!!! The McDades have done a fabulous job of decorating the house - it feels like a real luxury to stay here. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for this generous review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay & we would love to see you again.
Kind regards
Rod & Hydie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The house felt like stepping into Home Décor magazine. It’s as welcoming and well kept as the hosts. Hydie and Rod love everything about owning a bed and breakfast and it shows. My girl friend and I felt the need to brush our hair and massage the creases out of our shirts in the morning. By 7am (or earlier) Hydie looks like she is ready for Sunday brunch at the country club. Her breakfast is delicious. OMG the fresh plums, grapes, and Apples from the Garden! Even the bath towels were a luxurious wallow in fluffy cotton heaven. The setting is a fantastic place to relax but it’s not a particularly interesting town. However Rod and Hydie are a South African experience in themselves. If you linger to hang out they have plenty of anecdotes, books, and wild life snap shots to share. They are kind and educated and very gracious. Rod is Medical Doctor who must be twice my 30 years - and he offered to help me with my luggage. After we left Hydie texted us to check that we made the drive to Capetown ok. Gentleman , you will not leave without your girl friend saying, “I want us to be like Rod and Hydie and to own a bed breakfast”. Yes, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your very enthusisatic & gracious review of Beside Still Waters. We have the rare privilege of living in a fulfilled dream & would encourage you two to persue YOUR dreams
We look forward to our next meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thanks a million times to the McDade's for an unforgettable breakaway. Our accommodation was private, beautiful and the view breathtaking. The hospitality of our hosts were wonderful... Even the fish eagle came to say hallo!!! Peaceful, serene, just what the doctor ordered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarietaCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Marieta
We were absolutely delighted that you so enjoyed your stay at Beside Still waters & had such a fine appreciation for the natural beauty & birdlife. We look forward to welcoming you all back.
Many, many thanks for your kind review.
Regards
Rod & Hydie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 days there and wished we'd spent a whole week! Peaceful, central to so much, beautiful views, lotsof lovely birds etc etc. Excellant accommodation, very comfortable beds, beautiful linen, beautiful garden and surroundings . We went to Natures Valley and Porcupine pottery, which was such a lovely shop in the Mill shop at The Crags. Worth a look! Went up the Montagu Pass, a trip not to be missed on the old pass/

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
You left Cape Town with no specific agenda & we were fortunate enough to be the ones to host you in Wilderness !.There is no better commendation for the owner of a guesthouse than visitors saying " we wish we had stayed longer". Thank you so much for your generous praise & enthusiasim.
Next year's garden promises to be even more beautiful. Take that week's break & see for yourself !
Kind regards. Rod & Hydie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Heaven - it's the only way to describe this place. John is a South African and lives in the UK. His brother and wife live in George - not a million miles from Beside Still Waters and they didn't know it existed. His sister lives near Cape Town with her husband and made the trek along the Garden Route for a family gathering weekend - two brothers and their sister. I am English and live in the UK so visiting SA at this time of year is a special treat - especially leaving the snow behind. None of us is young! I was totally unprepared for such an empowering experience. The peace and quiet, the wild life - not only birds, the quality of the venue, the fun and friendliness of such delightful hosts made this a very special time to enjoy each other, to chat, braai (sorry guys BBQ in my language), breakfast, visit the local market. We were so lucky to have the use of the cottage and the loft which gave us a tremendous amount of space.

We felt very special and lucky to have the use of this private space. THANK YOU beautiful hosts. Strongly recommend this venue to family, couples and singles. It has everything you could possibly wish for.

Kindest - Nicky Tolson

Room Tip: There is no room or venue that is better than any other at this B&B. Wherever you stay you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Nicky & John
It has been more than 3 months since you were with us & altho I have thanked you personally for your amazing review of your time with us at Beside Still Waters, I feel constrained to give you all a "cyber hug" of gratitude for all the people who have told us that your review clintched their decision to pay a visit to our marvellous place !!
We loved your time here & when you feel the pull of the sunshine again we would welcome you with open arms.
Thanks again for your gracious & enthusiastic comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed over in the "Loft" apartment (all the other rooms were taken), and although we were initially a little hesitant given the potential for noise from guests below, we quickly learned that the inviting pictures and beautiful scenery portrayed on their website were indeed just as incredible throughout our stay.

The Loft was well equipped, cleanly kept, and really did sport the best views on the premises. Although it is not stated on the website, there is wifi closer to the main house, we thought it would have really been great to have a wifi-router on the second house for basic emailing. Overall the well kept beach-house style facilities, abundant wildlife, central location between Wilderness & Sedgefield, and owner involved management, made for a really great experience which we would recommend to anyone looking to get away from it all and relax.

Thank you Hydie & Rod for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Loft is definitely the best value for money, just make sure you find out if you will have neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas_R_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Lucas
More than 3 months have passed since you visited Beside Still Waters & gave such a positive & encouraging review. We greatly appreciate your comments & suggestions & you will be glad to know that we are looking into a more effective wi-fi connection for the Cottage & Loft.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future - perhaps when you come down with your bicycles for the Knysna Festival in July !
Kind regards
Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in The Loft for four nights and can't recommend Beside Still Waters enough. We wanted a central base to explore the Garden Route without having to move every night or two, which worked very well. Our room was extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated, with everything to make us feel at home and more. Rod and Hydie were friendly and welcoming, the view from our balcony was spectacular and we made very good use of the garden and the braai. We were so relaxed and engrossed in the surroundings that we didn't even remember to check if there was TV or watch DVDs and although we had signal we were trying to ignore our phones and email as much as possible. There is plenty to do in the immediate area, from canoeing to forest walking, river swims to beautiful beaches. We also went a little further afield to try out bungy jumping and a canopy tour. Our only complaint is that we were so spoilt that we were then a little disappointed by the other places we stayed at later on! I hope that we will one day visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBandJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Craig & Jen your wonderfully insightful observations & generous comments about your time at Beside Still Waters were very heartwarming. You certainly made the most of every moment you were here, even when just chilling on the balcony. We would love to see you here again & thank you for sharing your excitement about this amazing place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.7 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#20 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.7 mi away
Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
#14 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.2 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#9 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#10 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.5 mi away
Reflections Eco Reserve
Reflections Eco Reserve
#23 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering

Property: Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Address: 84 / 192 Kleinkrantz Farm, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside Still Waters' is located in the heart of South Africa's magnificent Garden Route and offers bed & breakfast and self catering accommodation for families, couples, individuals or groups. Visitors from all corners of the globe travel to this lakeland treasure, part of the Wilderness National Park, to experience the natural beauty, and bird and animal life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing