We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully undisturbed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Ranked #23 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed over in the "Loft" apartment (all the other rooms were taken), and although we were initially a little hesitant given the potential for noise from guests below, we quickly learned that the inviting pictures and beautiful scenery portrayed on their website were indeed just as incredible throughout our stay.

The Loft was well equipped, cleanly kept, and really did sport the best views on the premises. Although it is not stated on the website, there is wifi closer to the main house, we thought it would have really been great to have a wifi-router on the second house for basic emailing. Overall the well kept beach-house style facilities, abundant wildlife, central location between Wilderness & Sedgefield, and owner involved management, made for a really great experience which we would recommend to anyone looking to get away from it all and relax.

Thank you Hydie & Rod for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Loft is definitely the best value for money, just make sure you find out if you will have neighb...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas_R_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Lucas
More than 3 months have passed since you visited Beside Still Waters & gave such a positive & encouraging review. We greatly appreciate your comments & suggestions & you will be glad to know that we are looking into a more effective wi-fi connection for the Cottage & Loft.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future - perhaps when you come down with your bicycles for the Knysna Festival in July !
Kind regards
Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in The Loft for four nights and can't recommend Beside Still Waters enough. We wanted a central base to explore the Garden Route without having to move every night or two, which worked very well. Our room was extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated, with everything to make us feel at home and more. Rod and Hydie were friendly and welcoming, the view from our balcony was spectacular and we made very good use of the garden and the braai. We were so relaxed and engrossed in the surroundings that we didn't even remember to check if there was TV or watch DVDs and although we had signal we were trying to ignore our phones and email as much as possible. There is plenty to do in the immediate area, from canoeing to forest walking, river swims to beautiful beaches. We also went a little further afield to try out bungy jumping and a canopy tour. Our only complaint is that we were so spoilt that we were then a little disappointed by the other places we stayed at later on! I hope that we will one day visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBandJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Craig & Jen your wonderfully insightful observations & generous comments about your time at Beside Still Waters were very heartwarming. You certainly made the most of every moment you were here, even when just chilling on the balcony. We would love to see you here again & thank you for sharing your excitement about this amazing place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rod and Hydie gives true meaning to the word hospitality. They have created an imaginative, bright and perfectly decorated guesthouse, and by their tireless personal involvement maintain it in perfect condition. The location is as great as they advertise but the feel of the place is much more cosy and comfortable than they claim. On top of this their friendliness and concern about the well-being of each guest is something that no-one could expect. They have furnished and provided accessories in the kitchen that you would only expect in the most modern house. Their warmth still fills our hearts long after we left and we wish to visit them again if we could get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Leon & Andra.
Thank you so much for your gracious review of your time at Beside Still Waters. Our enjoyment of your time was the way you clearly relaxed & enjoyed so many of the attractions of this amazing area. So sorry that you were handicapped by the injury to your thigh Leon - it is a sobering thing to discover that one cannot keep up with our teenagers activities! We are really hoping that you will pay us another visit to make up for the days when you had to just sit & watch. Happy planning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I had originally booked The Loft for 2 nights, but after waking up on the first morning and stepping out onto the balcony to see the magnificent view of the lake, complete with the call of the fish eagle, we knew we would not be ready to leave this little piece of heaven so soon!

On our arrival the night before, the scent of fresh lavender and sweet peas from the garden bid us welcome to the pristine, white timber bachelor apartment with its delightful furnishings which include, amazingly, Persian rugs!

We were overwhelmed by the kindness of our host, Rod, who provided the wherewithal for making tea and coffee (quality instant as well as filter - what a treat), a fruit bowl and chocolates. Although Hydie was away during our visit, we got to sample her delicious home-made health biscuits. This despite the fact that The Loft is self-catering.

No effort is spared to ensure the comfort and well-being of guests, and although we extended our stay by an extra night, we hardly scratched the surface of things to do in the area (or in the loft for that matter, where a selection of wonderful dvds and books are available to keep visitors entertained in bad weather or on lazy days.

Lastly, it must be said that rates are reasonable, considering what Beside Still Waters offers. Thank you, Rod and Hydie - we look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nolette13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Nolette. Your review was generous beyond words & describes all the things that we are striving for at Beside Still Waters. Our vision does not necessarily include all the sophistication of modern life. We want to be Accessible, Available, Attentive to the needs of our guests & Affordable. We strive for exellence in simplicity & eschew the tyranny of expediency.
In short, we like guests like you, who take us as we are & thrill to the magic of Creation. Lets not pretend we can improve on it. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing time staying in the Upper Room Apartment. It served us as a family well. The apartment is well equipped. The balcony offers lovely views of the lake. There are plenty of activities for the children nearby and a huge garden for them to play in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Jaco & Leanne. We were delighted that you & your family were able to make a return visit to Beside Still Waters. We loved having the sounds of your children mingling with the bird song & the inevitable 'sunshine' that good families bring even when the weather is overcast.
You will always receive a warm welcome so start planning your next sojourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We overnighted and had a great stay in the loft, which has 6 beds.
Little surprises all over including chocolates hidden in the towels was a nice surprise. There was milk in the fridge and some fruit in a bowl. Great stuff for a self catering joint.
We were made to feel at home...Webber was wheeled out so we could have a barbecue and we were handed some avocados when we said our good byes.
Definitely a tranquil spot and good place to nestle, whilst exploring George and Knysna. Can imagine the great walks up the road and some great bird watching...saw a pair of rare black eagles on the cliffs on the right as we drove in from the N2.
Missed the DSTV, but the were some videos and so we caught up with a few classics. I guess this is by design, because this is a place to get away from it all. Gadgets do not work here unless they are of the ocular type.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Marc, I apologise for this belated response to your generous review of your stay in The Upper Room. It has been a hectic 3 weeks! We were delighted that you were able to see the Black Eagle pair in the nearby 'Kloof' - there are people who have lived here for years & not spotted them. Well done !
I am also grateful for your positive response to our TV 'policy' of having Limited bouquet DSTV only in the 2 non family self catering units (Down Under & The Loft) & in the B&B rooms. We are serious about promoting NATURE & especially to families. So far we have had a very good response to the DVD option from both children & adult guests.
We certainly hope that you will return to Beside Still Waters & stay a bit longer to experience all we have to offer - you may need a month or more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Being a born South African and visiting George, Victoria Bay and Wilderness on a monthly base, I recently came across this establishment. It was my lucky day. In a class of its own. Clean stylish, comfortable, cozy and most of all peaceful. You can hear yourself think, this quiet! Its also a romantic atmosphere with fireplace and the surrounds of the garden mountain and lake to round it off.
To compare price and product, this is the best so far in this region.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tersia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Tersia, it is amazing & very intuitive that even though your visit to Beside Still Waters was very brief, you managed to experience all the elements that we have hoped would make any stay memorable. Thank you for highlighting some of these in your warm & sensitive review.
We greatly look forward to connecting when next you are travelling this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
5.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clairewood
Clairewood
#28 of 57 in Wilderness
46 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
679 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#29 of 57 in Wilderness
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering

Address: 84 192 Kleinkrantz Farm, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $35 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside Still Waters' is located in the heart of South Africa's magnificent Garden Route and offers bed & breakfast and self catering accommodation for families, couples, individuals or groups. Visitors from all corners of the globe travel to this lakeland treasure, part of the Wilderness National Park, to experience the natural beauty, and bird and animal life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing