We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
95
12
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreshly baked muffinsbird lifeloft apartmentbird songgarden routegravel roadpeace and quietsmall touchesthe main housewonderful settingnature loversrelaxing holidaylovely accommodationfelt like homeamazing placehome away from homepleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 108 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We chose the self-catering cottage for its fireplace and felt like the first people moving into this home that the owners lovingly built and decorated with furniture and art that they have collected over the years. Every window has a view that begs you to come out and play - either birdwatching/hiking/kayaking along the estuary with its abundant bird life or in Rod and Hydie's garden where you will always find something interesting. From the avo tree/treehouse bearing about 1000 fruit every winter to the variety of herbs in the summer. All finishing touches are quality, and the kitchen so well equipped that you won't bother with dining out. Just hop out to the famous Wild Oats Market on Saturday mornings for the farmers' best and cook/dine at home with an unbeatable view. A place of harmony. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Remember that the self-catering cottage also has a top floor (the loft). If you are a couple or a few friends who want total privacy, book the cottage and the loft upstairs together. It is so reasonably priced, you may as well book the entire double-storey stand-alone unit for yourselves.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Great-Escapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

A thousand thanks for your most comprehensive & delightful response to Beside Still Waters - and that after only a single night !
We were delighted that you made good use of the fireplace. It really does add something special to a winter's evening. At the moment we are experiencing the explosion of Spring & beginning to enjoy the longer days. We so enjoyed meeting you & look forward to your return, hopefully for long enough to explore some of the other delights all around us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Beside Still Waters is an amazing place for a break. It is beautiful, quiet, wonderful bird life and very comfortable. It has all you need for a get away. We have been several times and just love it there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Bruce & Bonny. A belated thank you for both your return visit & generous review. It is a great thrill & enhances our enjoyment when folk are so positive about Beside Still Waters. Please come again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We loved our week here, the lakes region must rate as one of the most beautiful places to spend a holiday. Very comfortable stay with everything one could want. Easy access to hiking, canoeing, ideal place to go cycling...all the ingredients for an ideal holiday! Thank you Rod and Hydie, this is a must for anyone coming to the Garden route.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

We were thrilled to welcome you again and so appreciate your positive comments. Glad too, that you are already compiling your 'next time' list.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Once again we enjoyed the wonderful hospitality, beautiful surroundings and excellent accmmodation in this "best-kept secret" on the Garden route.
Rod and Hydie are gracious and generous hosts. Their home is tastefully furnished and very comfortable, with top quality furnishings and amenities. We enjoyed meals on wrap around verandah with views of the forest and lake.... and the call of the fish eagle!!
Beside Still Waters is a very tranquil place to be where we enjoyed the birds, walks, mountain bike rides and proximity to nature, Wild Oats Market (Sedgefield) on Saturdays and visits to Knysna.
The sunrises over the lake are breathtaking.
There is nothing we can fault!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraemeOlwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you so much for really bringing out the 'heart' of this marvellous Wilderness National Park.
Our enjoyment is multiplied when friends offer such generous praise.
We hope you will have many more happy returns to Beside Still Waters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It is hard to imagine a more perfect place for a holiday if what you want is blissful peace and quiet, the most beautiful surroundings ( in summer your day starts with the sun rising over the far end of the lake), unspoilt wildlife,particularly birds, and walks through primeval forests. Can't quite think why we didn't forget about returning to town!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

It was so good to welcome you & your friends back to Beside Still Waters.
Thank you so much for the generosity of your response to your time here. We share your excitement & enthusiasm about the abundance & variety of the birdlife as well as the (almost) unsullied, natural beauty & tranquility.
Thanks too for your email suggestion to create a running Bird List & encouraging visitors to add to it. This will give greater meaning to seasonal migrations & new sitings.
We hope it will not be too long before you can once again escape the hustle of city life to refresh yourselves Beside Still Waters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews