We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family holiday at Beside Still Waters”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Ranked #23 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had a very relaxing, fun filled week at Beside Still Waters in October. This quiet, unspoiled, luxury self catering can not be beaten. The garden is a treasure trove for the kids and the views are stunning! There is so much to do in the area, we did some stunning walks including a 6km hike to a waterfall which is just around the corner, lots of beach time on beautiful beaches and some activities in George, including the Outeniqua Power Van. We would highly recommend Beside Still Waters to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 101 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

The location of this Bed and Breakfast establishment is away from the madding crowds and provides 5 star accommodation in a brand new beautiful home, set in a meticulously laid out fragrant garden.
Beside Still Waters is a nature lovers paradise with a profusion of bird life and joyous bird song.The serenity and peace of the still waters of the lake and visit to the nearby bird hide are all food for the soul and a visit to this B&B is a must when next you travel the Garden Route

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite on the corner idyllic
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

You have no idea, as owners of a 'Just Launched' B&B, what a thrill it gives us to receive such high praise for this special place. Nor what a pleasure it is to be sharing it with folk who really appreciate Nature & who draw nourishment from the Author of all that Beside Still Waters represents.
We sincerely hope that we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Finding a destination that thrills people of all ages is no easy feat, yet this special place ticks all the boxes! We spent a week in July at this beautiful spot and our boys would have been completely happy if we'd never left 'Beside still Waters"! The hosts, Rod and Hydie have not only a beautiful home, but a stunning garden into which they have clearly poured so much love and it was a paradise for our children to explore. Warm and enthusiastic, they provide a welcome environment for families and there was much in the local area for us to explore- when we managed to leave the tranquility of their home! We took the boys body boarding in the lagoon mouth at Wilderness, walked the local Kingfishers walk, went on the mountain train in George,went strawberry picking on a farm outside George, walked from their house to the local bird hide and of course enjoyed the delights of the Saturday Sedgefield market. The local beaches are absolutely beautiful and the little village of Wilderness comes to life at night, we thoroughly enjoyed exploring some of the restaurants there. Our accommodation was very tastefully decorated and always clean. All in all we had a fun-filled and relaxing time away and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My wife and I spent a week here and had an amazing time overlooking a beautiful lake and surrounded by the pleasant sound of birds building their nests. The garden is so colourful and the house is stunning with a real holiday feel to it. There are some lovely walks in the area which we enjoyed. It is situated between Sedgefield and Wilderness on the picturesque Garden Route and access to Knysa and George is quick and easy. It is a great place for a get away!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruce n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you, not only for this kindly review, but for coming back again ! We feel genuinely delighted that folk enjoy the peace & unspoilt natural beauty so much that they are drawn back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Waking up to the spectacular views across the lake sets the tone for a delightful stay at this property, well located on South Africa's famous Garden Route. The house, built in a modern take on Victorian style, is comfortable and welcoming. Deep verandahs provide cool shelter and a quiet retreat for watching the birds that populate the lake. Plenty of interesting attractions are close by to keep visitors fully entertained. The hosts, Hydie and Rod, are welcoming and full of advice on where to go and what to see. The rooms are tastefully decorated and, at the end of a day of walking, bird-watching or enjoying the local points of interest, the beds are a treat. And then, after a good night's rest, fling open the curtains and that glorious view awaits.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at "Beside Still Waters" over a weekend while travelling from Cape Town along the Garden Route. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and we enjoyed a wonderful retreat from the busyness of the city.

The house with its large rooms and covered verandahs is beautifully situated on a lake which is host to diverse bird life. It was the perfect place for hours of quiet contemplative rest, and is a photographer's paradise.

We visited the local market in Sedgefield on the Saturday morning which was fantastic, and came back with some special foods and crafts. The B&B is very conveniently situated and is close to the towns of Wilderness and Sedgefield.

I can highly recommend "Beside Still Waters" as a stop-over or a destination in itself when travelling through the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27027Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

It is very gratifying to hear guests expressing what we experience every day. This magnificent setting affords the opportunity to dream & realise just how beautiful our country is.

We are grateful for the generosity of this response because this is exactly what we strive for.
These guests enjoyment enhances ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and I and our 3 young children recently stayed here over the school holidays. We had the most special time at this beautiful property over-looking Langvlei lake between Wilderness and Sedgefield on South Africa's Garden Route. The accommodation is very comfortable and tastefully decorated with the utmost care by the owners, Rod & Hydie. If you like nature and a peaceful and relaxing time, Beside Still Waters is for you. ps. Fish Eagles call & fly over-head frequently during the day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proccyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

We thouroughly enjoyed having this family with us & would welcome them back because they really knew how to make the most of this magnificent, surprise destination. The daily cries of the Fish Eagles overhead & the unfamiliar silence of the dark starry nights enthralled adults & children alike. What a pleasure !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
5.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clairewood
Clairewood
#28 of 57 in Wilderness
46 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
680 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#29 of 57 in Wilderness
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering

Address: 84 192 Kleinkrantz Farm, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $35 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside Still Waters' is located in the heart of South Africa's magnificent Garden Route and offers bed & breakfast and self catering accommodation for families, couples, individuals or groups. Visitors from all corners of the globe travel to this lakeland treasure, part of the Wilderness National Park, to experience the natural beauty, and bird and animal life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing