We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Reflections Eco Reserve
Ranked #23 of 60 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I were at Reflections from 12-24 Dec 2011 for our honeymoon. We travelled through from Johannesburg - flew to Cape Town International Airport and drove up to Wilderness.

When we arrived at 8pm, I called Tim Carr (owner and host) and he arrived within 2 minutes to welcome us. Tim and his wife Angelique and their kids live on the Reserve in a house similar to the 4 guest chalets. Tim's personal welcome and arrival was characteristic of the professional and personal touch that we came to enjoy and expect over the two weeks that we were there.

The Reserve is located several km's off the main N2 from Knysna to George - but is far enough in (within the region of the Wilderness Nature Reserve) to be completely secluded from the noise of the main road. Occasionally, depending on the direction of the wind, one can hear a mild hum from the main road at busy times.

Driving in from the main road, one takes a long unfortunately badly corrugated dirt road before reaching the Reserve. This is mildly unpleasant as one drives in and out of the area.

The Reserve itself is still in the process of rehabilitation - so does not have the characteristic beauty of the area's natural forest/fynbos. Nonetheless, the Reserve is quiet and pleasant and the chalets more than compensate for what is missing in the Reserve environment.

My wife and I stayed in chalet #1 - the chalet closest to the Rondevlei lake. The chalet is located about 80m from chalet #2 which is located at a further distance from the lake. Chalet #3 and #4 are spaced out at approximately a similar distance from one another and are also at a further distance from the lake. #3 and #4 look onto a mountain. Tim graciously accommodated us with chalet #1 which he regards as the "honeymoon chalet" - and it certainly turned out to be! More than we imaged!

The inside of the chalet is stunning: completely laminated wood. Great design, spacious, well fitted, comfortable, homely. I've posted a few pictures which give an impression of the inside. Excuse the blurry pics! The kitchen/living room/dining room (open plan) together make up the largest room. The open plan living area is totally surrounded by big windows and two large sliding doors which allow lots of natural light to flood in.

The two bedrooms are well fitted. Queen size bed in main room with good pillows, clean sheets and a great view. Large cupboards. Adjacent toilet and basin (individual room) and bathroom (with shower, bath and basin) are very neat, clean and enjoyable.

The large patio with comfortable bench, patio chairs and table as well as excellent view of part of the lake and two hills on either side of the valley, make for a stunning breakfast and dinner eating spot! One could easily spend entire days on the patio. Unfortunately, the chalet we stayed in was raised less than a meter off the ground, and so does not provide the most comprehensive view of the Rondevlei lake. Nevertheless, the view is still serene and gorgeous!

About 30m in front of the patio on chalet #1, Tim has built a viewing deck that overlooks the Rondevlei lake. Great spot for an evening drink or kuier! :)

Other guests arrived about half way through our honeymoon and stayed in chalet #2. The valley is very quiet and so noise did carry. Playful children made a bit of noise which occasionally disturbed us, but not badly.

Service was excellent. Reggie and Elsie are a married couple employed by the Carr's who do the domestic and maintenance duties. Elsie kept the chalet meticulously clean. She makes the neatest bed I've ever seen! Reggie did a great job keeping the braai place and fireplace clean. The linen in the bedroom and towels in the bathroom were replaced once every few days. It would have been preferable to have had the towels replaced a little more regularly. But other than that, I have no complaints. Reggie, Elsie and the Carrs were careful to allow us a peaceful and private honeymoon. The Lord blessed us with a glorious time. We thank Him and Tim and Angelique (with their dog Olive in the picture!) for the good time!

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Knysna, Sedgefield and the surrounding area is absolutely stunning and needs no review or advertising!

Room Tip: Chalet #1 is ideal for those wanting a quiet honeymoon or couple getaway overlooking a lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

A very peaceful and secluded lodge, yet only 10 minutes from the beach and nearest village. All amenities but surrounded by beautiful nature. Awesome birding and walks in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

A few families from Knysna were fortunate enough to spend the weekend at reflections, what a treat to arrive to such well appointed, comfortable, clean accommodation, the various families each had their own log house, which were all spaced apart yet close enough that we could all congregate for our meals etc. It's Eco for sure but you don't feel like you are missing anything, yes the phones work and yes you can charge them, but you should actually switch them off and just chill! There are wind turbines and solar charged battery banks supplying electricity for lights and small appliances baby monitors, radios (we took a iPod sound system with us for some evening music /80's revival once all the kids were asleep).

each house has two bedrooms, one or two have an extra loft bedroom with extra beds, sleep 6 persons. Large spacious lounge, indoor fireplaces, Kitchens well kitted out with everything you will need for self cater, outdoor braai area's and plenty wood, kids explored and rode bikes. (we took all the bikes with) Tim took the dads and kids on a nature walk around the reserve and kids came back tired and full of exciting information on the various plants, trees, insects and of course the resident nesting Fish Eagles!

Great touches that we loved:
Fresh ground coffee in each cabin
A kids nature inspired storey book in each cabin. (kids loved to hear a new storey and the amazing illustrations) Uno's Garden
Comfortable couches,

Room Tip: the house right up near the lake was our favorite,deck nearby for sunsets, and the Fish Eagles nest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Springtide1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The four chalets here are wooden and built to a very high standard. They are extraordinarily well fitted out, with fresh ground coffee and a French Press to welcome you. Lovely soft linen and decent pillows. Electricity is supplied from Photovoltaic panels and wind generators and large batteries. Hair dryers and kettles are therefore not allowed, but there is an excellent gas hob and gas fridge.

Cell phone coverage is fine but there is no Wi-Fi.

They have cleared the old alien pine trees and are re-establishing Fynbos, the flowers of the Cape Floral Kingdom. Fish Eagles nest on the property, and the National Park of Wilderness (Rondevlei lake) is viewable from the property just a few yards away where the wildfowl can easily be seen and we saw Cape Clawless Otters swimming too.

The owners are wildlife experts and Tim is an amusing, knowledgeable and gifted bird tutor and knows all the local Hot Spots. His call for Narina Trogan is better than recorded tracks available commercially!

It is gloriously quiet - please don't book if you are going to spoil that for others!

Room Tip: All the chalets are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JDoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
6.9 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
6.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 60 in Wilderness
330 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 60 in Wilderness
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 60 in Wilderness
290 reviews
4.7 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
412 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reflections Eco Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflections Eco Reserve

Address: Rondevlei, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $169 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Reflections Eco Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing