We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Ibitshi Guest Lodge at the end of April 2014. Our stay was fantastic and we really enjoyed our stay in the Wilderness area and also our accomodation.

Our host, Michael, was very welcoming and immediatley took time to get to know us and helped us book a restaurant for our first night in advance of us arriving. He showed us around the property and our room. The building itself has guest rooms on the first floor. Our room had a nice lounge area with a TV, fridge and a couple of bathrooms. The bedroom had a fantastic view out to sea and all the rooms are bright and spacious. If you are going to stay please be aware that you will hear the sea, not a problem for us at all but is something to be aware of if you are a very light sleeper.

The downstairs area of the building has an indoor pool (not the right time of year for us to use it), a TV/sound system lounge area which we did use one evening to watch a DVD. There is a pool table and also a large kitchen.

The beach is near by and we had a nice walk along the beach with the two dogs and also saw the sunset. There isn't too much else in the area though. We had a hire car so were able to travel about but I doubt anyone visiting would come without transport. The use of the taxi to get into the main part of Wilderness with the restaurants was useful if you want to have a drink with your meal instead of driving there yourself.

Michael is also a superb cook. Our breakfast (as previous reviews have testified to) is a wonder to behold. If only our stomachs were large enough we would have enjoyed so many of the things on offer! As it was though we over the two days enjoyed fresh fruit, fruit smoothies, a hot vegetarian dish, fresh baked rolls and muffins and also a pancake. The food is all fresh and delicious!

I'd definitley recommend Ibitshi as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Either of the two rooms at the front which overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMacdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hi Shona & Alex,
Great to read that you were happy with your stay at ibitshi. You guys were a pleasure to host & your positive review is highly appreciated.
All the Best
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 47 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

...Ibitshi would be it. This is my fourth visit there and my husband's second, and there was no question when choosing a place to stay on our trip from Cape Town up the Garden Route. This place is not just accommodation – it is a destination.

Michael is the lodge-owner, chef/baker extraordinaire, fantastic host and a very special friend. He spent a whole evening chatting with us in his beautiful garden and making sure we were as comfortable as possible at all times.

We were on our honeymoon and not only was Michael able to accommodate us at very short notice, but gave us the exquisite front room with a balcony / French doors overlooking Kleinkrantz beach, which is almost deserted, bar the occasional colourful parachute flying by. The bedroom has a dressing room attached to the spacious bathroom, with a mini-fridge containing a lovely bottle of champagne for our special occasion. I believe this room is currently being renovated to include a living room space too. It has air-conditioning, which is great in Summer, a Nespresso coffee machine and home-baked biscuits - this is true 5-star quality with maximum attention to detail.

This 'attention to detail' is most notable in Michael's breakfasts - every day there is a different theme to the place settings, and breakfast includes a fresh half fruit with edible flowers, fresh fruit salad with exotic/interesting fruits, as well as a healthy smoothie made in his trusty Nutribullet! This is followed by a home-baked roll of the day, with all the condiments and cheeses on the table, which is then followed by a hot dish, usually vegetarian (we had stacked pancakes with Parmesan, tomato, and spinach on day 1, and a Thai-style frittata on day 2). Finally Michael brought out his home-baked muffin of the day (coconut and pineapple / Gruyere, sun-dried tomato and Italian herbs), which we were too full to eat after such an unbelievable meal, and packed as a tasty snack on our journey each day.

The Wilderness is a beautiful part of the world, and on this trip we made the most of the perfect weather by taking a light canoe trip up the river system in the Wilderness National Park, and the hiking for about 45 mins on a boardwalk to the Touw’s River Waterfall for a picnic. As someone who is not extremely sporty, I really enjoyed myself and found it very manageable. Michael also had some great restaurant recommendations for dinner in the area. The Kleinkrantz beach is also lovely to stroll along in the mornings/evenings, or run along with the lodge dogs Utie and Mazzie.

From Ibitshi we moved on to Kynsna (about 30 min drive away) and it is with a heavy heart that we know it will be a while till we return, as we live in the UK. There is no doubt that we will be back, and no way our honeymoon experience could be as special as it was, were it not for our stay at Ibitshi.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the beach have stunning views of the sea, and the other rooms have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi Guys,
Happiness is : reading a review, where guests had a special few "moments" & you played a part in making it possible - thanks, beautifully written & thoroughly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for 3nts on our honeymoon trip along the garden route. Quite simply the standard of accommodation is out of this world and has to be seen to be believed. We stayed in an amazing room with a view overlooking the deserted kleinkrantz beach. The standard of furnishings, space, views were seriously fantastic. All of this complemented by a great host Michael. Professional, personal and attentive without being intrusive, serving up phenomenal healthy breakfasts. He was also on hand to help us with dinner reservations and any other queries we had on what to do in this idyllic area. If you want some peace and relaxation in accommodation that offers the best in high end design, stay here. 11 out of 10!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank YorksCouple30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thanks so much - great to know that you enjoyed your stay at ibitshi. Your review is highly appreciated & makes me even more determined to improve my product in the future. Looking forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The most perfect place for a relaxing holiday, with the breathtaking views,comfort at it's finest and every morning waking up to the smell of freshly baked breads and pastries!what more could you ask for?Michael is very friendly and is a true inspiration for culinary skills, every day for 10 days we ate something different at breakfast and he out did himself with every masterpiece he created.The dogs, Utie and Muzzie are an added treat as they too treat you to walks on the beach and guide you home once you have had a good day tanning on this almost private beach .it is close to Knysna and Wilderness where there are lots of fun things to do ,like paragliding,tree swinging,canoeing etc. A place not to be missed.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ivana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Wow! That really is great,to know that you had a great time. It gives me great pleasure to know that I played a part in making your holiday quite special. Thanks for staying @ ibitshi & all the best to the family in 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you can get in, definitely stay here! We spent 3 nights in the upstairs sea view suite ‘seaside 1’, the one with the bath overlooking the sea! We’ve never stayed in a B&B like this. The house is perfectly positioned by the beach and is an architectural dream, complete with swimming pool inside the lounge. The owner, Michael, who designed the place originally as his own home, has a passion for hospitality and made us feel instantly at ease. His breakfasts are the best we experienced on our entire South African trip, if he’s not a top chef, he ought to be. Thanks Michael. Kleinkrantz is within easy reach of Knysna where we did a ‘Township Tour’ which was excellent and happy experience. Michael will have details of how to book it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandEscapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Your review is highly appreciated. I do have a passion for real hospitality & thoroughly enjoy it.
It brings great personal pleasure when I hear from discerning guests that they had a great time at ibitshi. Mike & Angie, it would be special to welcome you back,in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The property is amazing, view of the water with an amazing deck, the first floor is very wide and open, with what seems to be an indoor pool.

Being a carnivore myself, I was initially hesitant when I heard the breakfast was vegetarian, but the food was great. Stuff that was notable was the quiche, pancakes, mixed fruit and a huge selection of jams.

My only regret here is that I wish we could have stayed longer. We checked in later in the night and had to get going relatively early the next day.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjuna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hi Arjuna,
It was great having your group of friends, here @ ibitshi. Hopefully, next time you guys will stay a little longer. Your positive review is highly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First the downside, if there is one: We were initially a little worried about the location of Ibitshi lodge. It's on a very quiet residential road with some pretty stunning, architecturally designed houses on one side, and the beach on the other, and it's not possible to walk to Wilderness so you'll need a car. That said, it was exactly what we wanted, a good base to explore the area. You also, while having a really lovely beach outside your front-door, cannot swim in the ocean because of the riptide. So it's more of a walking, sunbathing beach, spectacular and windswept, with dolphins visible from the shore.
The positives are that you have an incredibly friendly, chatty, and at ease host, who provides a real personal touch but does not overbear and disappears to leave you to your own thing after breakfast. And that brings me to what was undoubtedly the highlight of our stay here, Michael is a superb, innovative cook and each breakfast was different but delicious. We were greeted by almond bread, wine and oysters on arrival. The breakfasts are healthy too, no fried eggs here but fresh fruit smoothies, delicious fat-free muffins (my wife borrowed the recipe!), and a clever egg concoction (frittata, or something baked!) each morning, to accompany freshly baked rolls.
Wilderness is a 5 min drive away and we had one of our best meals of SA there despite it being down-season.
Finally the two dogs, particularly the collie, Utah, were great fun, and a welcome bit of company on our walk down the beach.
All in all, recommended

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are spectacular but you do get woken early by the light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomandNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi Nicki & Tom,
Your review is much appreciated - Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.8 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 60 in Wilderness
462 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B
Wilderness on Sea B&B
#17 of 60 in Wilderness
148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dune Villa Wilderness
Dune Villa Wilderness
#17 of 41 in Wilderness
2 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
3.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 60 in Wilderness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness

Address: 2405 Hibiskus Street, Kleinkrantz, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range: $149 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest Lodge located on the beachfront in Kleinkrantz, Wilderness aimed at the tourist & business travel market. Ibitshi is owner-managed and combines spacious accommodation, contemporary facilities and service excellence. Understanding the diverse and unique requirements of both tourists & corporate clients, the lodge combines private suites with an upmarket open-plan environment and several different spaces to unwind and relax. Four suites, boasting stunning ocean or mountain views, include business facilities and top class amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing