We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property, friendly host, perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness
Cupertino, California, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property, friendly host, perfect”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The property is amazing, view of the water with an amazing deck, the first floor is very wide and open, with what seems to be an indoor pool.

Being a carnivore myself, I was initially hesitant when I heard the breakfast was vegetarian, but the food was great. Stuff that was notable was the quiche, pancakes, mixed fruit and a huge selection of jams.

My only regret here is that I wish we could have stayed longer. We checked in later in the night and had to get going relatively early the next day.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjuna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Arjuna,
It was great having your group of friends, here @ ibitshi. Hopefully, next time you guys will stay a little longer. Your positive review is highly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First the downside, if there is one: We were initially a little worried about the location of Ibitshi lodge. It's on a very quiet residential road with some pretty stunning, architecturally designed houses on one side, and the beach on the other, and it's not possible to walk to Wilderness so you'll need a car. That said, it was exactly what we wanted, a good base to explore the area. You also, while having a really lovely beach outside your front-door, cannot swim in the ocean because of the riptide. So it's more of a walking, sunbathing beach, spectacular and windswept, with dolphins visible from the shore.
The positives are that you have an incredibly friendly, chatty, and at ease host, who provides a real personal touch but does not overbear and disappears to leave you to your own thing after breakfast. And that brings me to what was undoubtedly the highlight of our stay here, Michael is a superb, innovative cook and each breakfast was different but delicious. We were greeted by almond bread, wine and oysters on arrival. The breakfasts are healthy too, no fried eggs here but fresh fruit smoothies, delicious fat-free muffins (my wife borrowed the recipe!), and a clever egg concoction (frittata, or something baked!) each morning, to accompany freshly baked rolls.
Wilderness is a 5 min drive away and we had one of our best meals of SA there despite it being down-season.
Finally the two dogs, particularly the collie, Utah, were great fun, and a welcome bit of company on our walk down the beach.
All in all, recommended

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are spectacular but you do get woken early by the light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Nicki & Tom,
Your review is much appreciated - Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ibitshi Guest House is as good as all the reviews say and more. A stunning property with spectacular views. Highly recommend sea view rooms. Breakfasts include freshly made breads, fruit drinks and more besides. A very friendly and informative host who clearly enjoys guests making the most of their holidays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen123Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Stephen & Gary,
Great to read that you were satisfied with all @ ibitshi. Your review is much appreciated. You guys were an absolute pleasure to host & hope you visit again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. The place is unbelievable! The room- wow ! The breakfasts-have not had better in SA ever! Michael knows excactly how a good host ought to be, offering service but not being too close. The last night he even offered to be our driver to and fro our restaurant to let us enjoy the full wine package.
Do we want to come back? Yeah!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MaritandPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It was one big pleasure having you guys staying at ibitshi. The pleasure will be even greater, when hopefully you return sometime soon !! All the best - Michael,Muzzy & Utie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

When you think guesthouse, you think clean room, nice property, friendly host, that sort of thing. However, what you find with Ibitshi is that and so much more. Here is a modern, aethetically stunning beachside beauty of a guesthouse that ticks all the boxes, and then goes on to tick a few more. Michael the chef patron a la cuisine maitre d hostest with the mostest made us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived. Any man that name's his dog 'Mazeltov' deserves a medal in my book. We were on honeymoon and Michael had deliberately popped out to pick up some champagne for our room which was an endearing touch. He showed us around, from a sleek, ultra modern minimalist open plan pool/kitchen/lounge to the jewel of the crown upstairs...

The room itself, overlooking the ocean with floor to ceiling windows, for sheer value it has to be said, is quite possibly the best room on earth. Huge, spacious, comfortable, separate changing area, bathroom, dining table, balcony... it just goes on.

Michael stepped out of foodie retirement for us, cooked out of his skin and served us a meal for kings. Then did it all over again for breakfast. A good, kind man who clearly gets his kicks from the sheer thrill of giving people the best stay of their lives.

Did i mention the 10mile beach outside? Perhaps its only a glorious after-thought when remembering that here is a gamechanger of a guesthouse, re-writing the rulebook of what we should expect to come across on our travels.

It pained me to write this review, knowing that more of you will go, because quite frankly I don't want you to. it should really just remain - the best kept secret in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuross300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Charlotte & Stuart,
All I can say is "Wow" & thanks - I am so chuffed to have provided facilities & service that you deserved.
All the absolute Best !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012. This was one of the most beautiful B&B that I have ever stayed at. The food was lovely and you have full view of the Indian Ocean from your room. Michael, the owner/host is wonderful. He booked our first nights dinner at a lovely restraint in town and was more than helpful with any questions we had. Also Utah , his dog, is just so friendly that he spent some time playing fetch on the beach with us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Robin & Terri,
Your favourable review of ibitshi is highly appreciated. It is satisfying to know that your expectations were met at ibitshi. Would love to welcome you back, one day soon - stay well !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Everything I had read about Ibitshi proved to be spot on and more. The property is absolutely unique and in a really beautiful position, right across from a fantastic beach. The swimming pool in the middle of the spacious house, fantastic kitchen to one side and 2 really comfortable lounges on the other side were amazing. Michael, the owner really knows how to look after his guests and make them feel special. His breakfasts were totally different from the norm. They change each morning and were varied and very very tasty. Michael is an excellent chef. The rooms were very individual and comfortable. Great wifi connection. Fresh flowers in the house and in our room. If you are travelling the Garden Route this is a must and spoil yourself and stay as long as possible. 2 nights were not long enough. This was real luxury

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimboStocktononTees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
HI Jim & Margaret, Thank you so much! Very appreciative of your review & found it an absolute pleasure,being your host for a couple of days. Looking forward to a return visit one day soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
4.7 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
4.7 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
231 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
9.4 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness

Property: Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness
Address: 2405 Hibiskus Street, Kleinkrantz, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest Lodge located on the beachfront in Kleinkrantz, Wilderness aimed at the tourist & business travel market. Ibitshi is owner-managed and combines spacious accommodation, contemporary facilities and service excellence. Understanding the diverse and unique requirements of both tourists & corporate clients, the lodge combines private suites with an upmarket open-plan environment and several different spaces to unwind and relax. Four suites, boasting stunning ocean or mountain views, include business facilities and top class amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibitshi Guest Lodge Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing