We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected...”

Flava Cafe & restaurant
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A venue where 'flavas' and textures come together on your plate. A simple and trendy vibe sets the scene for a dining experience that promises to leave its mark on your Wilderness holiday.The unusual flavours are created by our singing chef in the open kitchen - while he is preparing your meal enjoy your drink upstairs in the Wilderness sunshine
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than expected...”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We originally tried to get into The Girls, but it was a Monday and they were closed, so our Guest House booked us into Flava, as it is their sister restaurant, but we didn't really know what to expect. They offer a pick up service which is great and meant we could both enjoy a drink. It looks a little more like a day time cafe/coffee bar but the quality of the evening meals was excellent. My boyfriend had the peri peri prawns and I had the Ostrich fillet which was a special. Our meals were both delicious and really well cooked. The service was also fantastic. Definitely worth a visit for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenni_rad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    322
    88
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice place with great food. The pork belly is a must and you dont even have to go for the large portion.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParkInn-byRadissonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable restaurant”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in this restaurant. The food was outstanding, the decor was fun and the service was excellent. I would choose this place to eat over its sister restaurant next door every time. Much more enjoyable!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Billy_Bates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, wonderful people and fantastic food!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The staff could not be more friendly or accommodating. The standard of food was incredible, we stopped for lunch as we arrived for our stay in Wilderness and we returned for breakfast a couple of days later! Quirky trip to the toilets as you walk part-way through the kitchen, but even the kitchen staff are pleased to see you, polite and welcoming. The variety of both food and drinks was fantastic and our whole group enjoyed both of our visits immensely - the daily specials were described in detail and three of our party had the lunch specials which were simply delicious! We will certainly return when we are next in the area!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHelenB7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visited the flava cafe twice during our stay in wilderness. This is an amazing place and a complete bargain. The first time we visited my boyfriend had the hake and chips Friday special and I had the gourmet burger that had a very unusual flavour combination, that I cannot altogether remember exactly what was in it, but I think I remember bree and rose jelly. Whatever was it in it was devine! We enjoyed it so much that we went back for Saturday lunch and we had some of the Shakes and mussels, which again were both great! This place does indeed have some great flavour combinations and the service was excellent on both occasions. Also the bill was extremely reasonable, especially considering everything on the menu was freshly and home made!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ew287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flava Cafe & restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Flava Cafe & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing