We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this spot”

Flava Cafe & restaurant
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: European, Fusion, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A venue where 'flavas' and textures come together on your plate. A simple and trendy vibe sets the scene for a dining experience that promises to leave its mark on your Wilderness holiday.The unusual flavours are created by our singing chef in the open kitchen - while he is preparing your meal enjoy your drink upstairs in the Wilderness sunshine
England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Loved this spot”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ate here upstairs on the veranda. The belly pork was divine. After we had eaten the chef came to check if we had enjoyed our meal. He used to be an opera singer and we were lucky enough that he burst into 2 arias. Certainly a meal with lots of plusses.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wiganduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    311
    88
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for lunch when on the N2”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Day 2 of our 3rd SA holiday and driving from Stellenbosch to Knysna. Very pleased we chose to stop in Wilderness (during lent after all).
Parking is limited but the food is well worth finding a spot roadside.
The cafe has achieved rave reviews for it's sandwiches and the selection is impressive. We opted for the ciabattas with moroccan chicken and feta & pesto and were not at all disappointed. Delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“FLAVOUR AT FLAVA”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Have eaten here a number of times and the standard is always the very good. The menu is varied enough and there are some unusual combinations. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff who are excellent. Flava is conveniently located a minute from the N2 highway but there is no road noise. Try upstairs on warm days/nights and downstairs on the rare cool days and Winter nights.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great for a bite.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Flava is a nice restaurant. It has an interesting menu and friendly staff. The decor is fresh although the setting isn't great(next to a filling station). We enjoyed our dinner and although it was much better than general pub and grub or the spur, it wasn't fantastic. I wouldn't recommend it for a special night out but if you are in the area and searching for a quick bite then Flava is your place.

Helpful?
Thank rocape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casual eating, good food”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Excellent place to eat, upstairs in the Summer, cosy downstairs on cold days. Perfect spot for a hungry Paraglider.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AngryTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flava Cafe & restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Flava Cafe & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing