We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B @ Garden Route”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
Ranked #12 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B @ Garden Route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Ocean View Guest House is located at the perfect spot, directly on Wilderness' Beach with an stunning view and amazing sound of the sea. The house is very modern and clean. Breakfast is nice and fresh. Would definitely recommend to go there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkoepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    16
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
126
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

As you might have guessed from the name, the Ocean View Guest House has fabulous and expansive views across the Indian Ocean. With what seems like acres of glass there are sweeping vistas from every room. It's a beautiful building, furnished in a very contemporary, stylish and individual way. Each guest room fronts the ocean and has a balcony or terrace, although I believe some are shared (if you'd prefer privacy, I'd recommend checking whether your room has a private balcony or not). Rooms and bathrooms are luxurious and the beds are, quite simply, gorgeous! Breakfasts are excellent and freshly cooked by the lovely staff. There is a good sized pool and you can access the seemingly endless beach via steps directly from the house.

Ocean View is easy to find and situated just outside the town of Wilderness in a safe environment. There is a great fish restaurant (called Salina's) within walking distance and a handful of alternatives in Wilderness itself (a few minutes drive away).

There are two things I'd check before making your booking. Firstly, the fact that the guest house is called 'Ocean View' gives a clue to the fact that it's pretty much on the beach. We loved the sound of the waves but if that's likely to bother you, book elsewhere! Secondly, we stayed in early November when daytime temperatures were low to mid 20s. The house has a 'cooling system' but it didn't seem to get particularly cool in our room. This wasn't a problem for us but in mid-summer perhaps it would be. Again - worth checking.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ocean View. It's super value and the owner, Harm, is a charming and hospitable host. Oh, and look out for the cow in the lounge....you won't miss it!

Room Tip: Check whether your room has a private or a shared balcony/terrace. As is typical for South Africa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This guest house has a wonderful location in Wilderness. The king sized bed was comfortable, the wi-fi worked well.
It would have been great to have a mini fridge in the room as well as a Nespresso or something similar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and this hotel is located right on the beach with every room backing onto the the crashing wilderness sea coasts beautiful beach. The entire hotel looks brand new and is ultra modern stylish. The private locked gates directly to the beach. Good quality breakfast is available and there are several fine bars and restaurants for lunch and evening meals. We couldn't fault this hotel or the friendly hotel manager. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_and_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stay only the one night and four Harm very welcoming as we arrived late one afternoon looking for a place to stay. Harm was really nice and accomodating and advised us were to go and eat that evening etc. Our room was lovely and we fell in love with the massive zebra cushions on the bed, lovely style in the house.
We also had access to the internet in the lounge and the breakfast the next day was cooked to perfection with a lovely selections on offer also.
Harm was also very easy to talk to as he shared with us the building of the stunning home and etc. Lovely place to stay very relaxing and would deffinately recommend to stay there.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in no. 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Ocean View is a design showhouse, converted into a luxury guest house, and its location right on the beach is to die for. The villa stands out in the Wilderness dunes, with one of the most beautiful beaches of the Garden Route right on its doorstep. The interior is chic and cool, all materials and fittings used are European top quality and high tech. Staying at The Ocean View is an experience that we fully enjoyed.
Service was friendly and breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of continental buffet and plenty of cooked options on order.
If you love the wow-factor of contemporary design and the sound of the ocean, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uyttenhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed three nights. two lots of steps led down to the lounge area and our room. The property is right on the sea front and as such there is a lot of wave crashing noise, double glazing would help. The temperature was quite warm but we were unable to have the patio doors open because of the sea noise.There is no A/C so we requested a fan to cool the room down. There is a 6 foot bed with quality pillows and linen. No bath tub but a huge walk in shower and twin basins DSTV, free wi-fi and a house desktop pc in the lounge. The electrical sockets were a mixture of South Afican and European twin prong. The lighting overall was a bit on the dim side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnludkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#9 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Luxury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Luxury Guest House

Property: The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
Address: 39 Die Duin | P.O. Box 244, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ocean View Luxury Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House in Wilderness has six sea-facing rooms with first floor balconies or ground floor decks and a Penthouse with a large roof terrace. Direct access to the beach and signature decor define The Ocean View experience which is all about the glorious sights and sounds of the Indian Ocean. All units have king-size beds, en-suite bathrooms and floor-to-ceiling sea-facing sliding doors. Breakfast is served on the first floor with a spectacular view of the ocean. The spacious guest lounge on the ground floor opens onto the pool deck. From there, Wilderness beach is a mere heartbeat away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean View Luxury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing