We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
Ranked #12 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very modern”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed three nights. two lots of steps led down to the lounge area and our room. The property is right on the sea front and as such there is a lot of wave crashing noise, double glazing would help. The temperature was quite warm but we were unable to have the patio doors open because of the sea noise.There is no A/C so we requested a fan to cool the room down. There is a 6 foot bed with quality pillows and linen. No bath tub but a huge walk in shower and twin basins DSTV, free wi-fi and a house desktop pc in the lounge. The electrical sockets were a mixture of South Afican and European twin prong. The lighting overall was a bit on the dim side.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnludkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    16
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
126
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a stunning house, however there were a number of little problems blinds that didn't work, (which are mentioned jn a previous review in 2012) light bulbs that need replacing, a very poorly located flat screen TV in the way if the terrace door, and a toilet seat that wasn't fixed properly. Overall a rather expensive.
We also found that our bedroom and bathroom opened out onto a terrace used by other guests which was disappointing as we had to have the curtains closed more than we would have liked, this seemed a strange arrangement.
The bed was very comfortable and the bed linen wonderfully quality. The staff were also friendly and very helpful,

Room Tip: There are only a couple of rooms worth having if you would like privacy you need to check before boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hols70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely place, clearly lots of attention to detail on the fittings. Very friendly and helpful service, and great breakfast! Interesting place as you get the experience of living in a glass box which obviously has its downsides hence my 4 rating- felt a bit stark in some ways....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruisyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

On the plus side the property looks the part. Very modern and uncluttered. The negatives: Our room was downstairs, we had to drag our big suitcases down two steep flights of stairs (no offer of help) The room was very dark but we found this compensated by the magnificent sound of the Ocean. The service was where the property let itself down. On asking about activities in the area we were told to read the literature in our room! Usually hosts are very helpful and informative, not here. Apart from the orange juice at the breakfast the rest of it was passable. In summary this is a place where you are paying for the building and not the service and I would recommend finding an owner managed property - you can tell the difference.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DPGMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

we had a very pleasnt stay here, but the minimalist furnishings made it very noisey. The room heating controls also had a mind of their own!
Room facilities excellant, Shower was great.
View of the ocean Perfect,
Gardens very nice,
Breakfast good.
Wifi didn't work.

Room Tip: All good and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had such an amazing break there for a couple of days in early September. We were blessed with beautiful weather and long walks on the beach which we nearly had all to ourselves in the low season. There are lots to do in the area and the manager was very helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat. The staff was lovely and helpful and the breakfasts were great. We will gladly return to spend a few days at the Ocean View.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a gorgeous, modern room right on the ocean with incredible views. The views are amazing from every room, including the breakfast room. Breakfast was excellent, with cold and hot dishes made fresh for you. Our room's heater didn't work (radiant floor heat), so we were given a space heater, which worked fine. Our hot water didn't work very well, either, which was a shame because the shower was huge and amazing. The host was very friendly and staff very sweet. It was too cold to use the swimming pool, but the beach was just a few steps down, which provided a wonderful place for long walks. There is also a very good restaurant within easy walking distance with lovely outdoor seating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#9 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Luxury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Luxury Guest House

Property: The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
Address: 39 Die Duin | P.O. Box 244, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ocean View Luxury Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House in Wilderness has six sea-facing rooms with first floor balconies or ground floor decks and a Penthouse with a large roof terrace. Direct access to the beach and signature decor define The Ocean View experience which is all about the glorious sights and sounds of the Indian Ocean. All units have king-size beds, en-suite bathrooms and floor-to-ceiling sea-facing sliding doors. Breakfast is served on the first floor with a spectacular view of the ocean. The spacious guest lounge on the ground floor opens onto the pool deck. From there, Wilderness beach is a mere heartbeat away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean View Luxury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing