We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and nature at their best!!”
Review of Clair Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clair Garden
Ranked #48 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Jan and Susanne are wonderful hosts. The 3 bedroom 1st floor apartment that they give to guests is very well maintained. The rooms are spacious and allow for families with kids to stay comfortably (they have bunk beds in addition to the double beds in some of the rooms).

We reached there on christmas and Susanne had thoughtfully placed christmas crackers on the beds - the kids were absolutely delighted.

The view all around is like a picture postcard. You can sit for hours on the terrace outside the living room and watch the birds come to feed on the fruit laid out for them by Jan. The mornings especially were lovely - with a hearty breakfast on the terrace, and a telescope to watch the birds on a distant tree.

The place is just off the main road, and easy to reach. We used it as a base for our trips to Pletternberg Bay (1.5 hrs drive), Bloukrans (bungee jumping - 2 hrs drive) and Knysna. George airport is barely 30 mins away. The place has a grocery store close by (we actually cooked one dinner in the well supplied kitchen) and several restaurants too.

Jan knows the region very well and gave us good tips on planning our short 2 day trip. Wish it was longer!

Highly recommended for Garden Route!!

Room Tip: You can choose a room (in which case you share the kitchen and living area with guests in other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamVenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2011

In a nutshell: This Bed and Breakfast is truly extraordinary! The location is perfect; close to the beach the lakes and with stunning views to the mountains. A luxury at an affordable price. Outstanding location for day trips to Plettenburg Bay, Knysna, Tsitsikamma Park and of course the whole Wilderness area. Jan and Susanne are extremely friendly and really made us feel at home preparing wonderful breakfasts to keep us going on the tours. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to all my close friends. If you are planning a trip along the Garden Route this is probably the best value for money accommodation you will find on a superb location. The next time we plan a trip in this area, Clair Garden will come top of our list as this is definitely the place where we will stay. Thanks again Jan and Susanne for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucasFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We liked this quite place in the middle of the Garden Route. Big spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a great balcony with beautful views. A specially the afternoon/evenings, preparing food on the fantastic braai. This B&B just started, but the hosts are professional. Jan knows the region and the whole country very wel and we mades some excursions with his little bus. It was light, clean, and just 500 from the beach. We intended to stay 3 days, but finally we stayed one whole week. Wilderniss has a very central position to visit a lot of different things. Vey convenient that there is a communal living room & kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyDeVrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Het strand is op loopafstand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle kamers zijn met prachtig uitzicht op de eerste verdieping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
371 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.4 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#28 of 59 in Wilderness
92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
322 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clair Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Garden

Address: 617 First Avenue, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $67 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful spot to discover the Garden Route. Spacious rooms, well furnished, communal dining & living room & kitchenette. Communal balcony with braai (bbq). We also offer tours. Beach 500m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clair Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing