We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super-lasagne and kind service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pomodoro

Pomodoro
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pomodoro is the meeting place of the locals and you will always find it buzzing with activity. The outside terraces offer a front row seat of the village activities which, together with the laid-back atmosphere and great food - the perfect place to while away the hours. Owner Claudio will warmly welcome you to this restaurant which they have worked so hard to make the best in the Wilderness. Pomodoro Restaurant is very serious about the quality of the food they serve. The pizzas are possibly the best on the Garden Route and the beautiful salads, antipasto, pastas, grills and seafood never fail to satisfy.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Super-lasagne and kind service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a great lunch there after some disappointments elsewhere. Lasagne and fruit shakes were great and special thanks to Ami for excellent service!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TitoKiljander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    333
    105
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nicest food we had Wilderness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stumbled by this restaurant whilst looking around the many restaurants in Wilderness village. We took it as a good sign that this place was extremely busy. Usually it puts people off but for me when I see lots of people it's usually a good thing. We had amazing food here, it was soooooo good we ate here for dinner and lunch the following day. I had a pasta dish and a salad and it was yummy whilst the boys enjoyed amazing pizza. I would highly recommend this place to fellow travellers and friends, you won't be let down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a Winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Pomodoro is our favorite restaurant in Wilderness. You can always expect excellent, friendly and efficient service, a warm, ambient setting and amazing Italian food (highly recommend the Vegetariano Pizza!) All at very reasonable prices!

We return again and again!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value italian food, but high volume perfunctory service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The setting is great and the pizzas and other menu items that we tried very good. This is a very popular spot judging by the all day clientele.

The menu is broad with something for all tastes, but I get the impression of end-of-season commercial fatigue. The service was perfunctory although not tardy - but there was no spark, just a get-on-with-the-job approach. Comparing this to the Flava Café over the road reveals the stark contrast.

Pricing reasonable, this is a safe bet and a good meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fugax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious pizzas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Absolutely delicious pizzas from a huge menu selection. Quite vibey and friendly service at the restaurant, but they also do takeaways. Parking in the area can be tricky in peak season, and you would also need to book for the restaurant. Despite being busy the food arrived quickly and was piping hot. Very reasonable prices in quite an expensive little neighbourhood.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro also viewed

 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing