We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joplins Pub and Steak Grill

Joplins Pub and Steak Grill
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Joplins is a small restaurant with a menu of 5 items: rump, sirloin, fillet, Tbone and lamb chops all served with egg and chips. The meat is always cooked to perfection and very tasty. It is well patronised by the locals so you know you will get a good deal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    77
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gansbaai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Even better than the last time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We visited Joplin's again during last week. The experience was even better than the previous times. The steak was excellent and my friend's lamb chops just as delicious. As always the atmosphere was wonderful with all old favourite swongs suiting the name Joplins being played. The first visit this holiday was so great that we had to visit again two days later and the steaks were even better tasting. This restaurant shows how wrong other places with large menus can be. Stick to your specialities and ensure top quality.,And the restaurant team goes out of their way to ensure a wonderful time for all.

A must visit if you are in the Wilderness area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable family outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great relaxed atmosphere, good service, simple menu, excellent steak. Good family outing. We will definitely be back
R

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 450DEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enjoyed our meal here but although we were warned that the menu was limited we felt there could have been a bit more on offer. The food was well cooked, but not a lot of it as there is little but the steaks on the plate - but the ambiance was good and I would certainly eat there again if I felt like a good steak.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawnve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Indeed the best steak on the Garden Route”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Easy-going waiters, very relaxing atmosphere. They know how to focus on the simple things. Steaks were excellent. The red wine could be better

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rogier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joplins Pub and Steak Grill also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Joplins Pub and Steak Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing