We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure!”

Zucchini Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Zucchini is blushing from all the attention... Voted in the "Top 20 Culinary Destinations" in the Garden Route for three years running as voted by the Chaines des Rotisseurs. Also voted best "Family Restaurant" in the Garden route for the last two years. If walls of this honest country restaurant could talk the conversation would include words of fresh,vibrant, from scratch, home grown organic and compliments to the chef. To us simplicity is the key. You can expect dishes filled with flavour, a taste experience for the natural foodie. Zucchini Restaurant is in the Timberlake Organic Village in Wilderness. We offer a selection of Vegetarian meals but also offer game dishes like the "Springbok Shank" or our "Trio of Carpaccio". A mix of local-made micro brews from the tap! 32 Different types of local beers to taste, not to be missed. Play park for the kids, and a host of activities to keep them busy while you relax on our couches and sip a glass of wine.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Almost in the middle of nowhere, (actually midway between Wilderness and Sedgefield) set on the edge of a plantation, is this really lovely restaurant. It's got a lovely relaxed atmosphere, but smart enough to be impressive. Great food, excellent coffee (Aiden's cheesecake is to die for!) with a lovely fire in the cooler months too.

Thank dobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 296 of 359 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were at Zucchini about 3 days and it was the only bad expierence of our 5 day trip at the Gardenroute. Of the winelist we found only 3 white wines (bad quality), the food came after one hour and was not good, one service for 14 people and so on. We recommend the whole team from "Zucchini" a visit to "Serendipity" in Wilderness or "Ile de Pain" in Knysna.

Sven and the group

Thank SvenMerseburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan H, Owner at Zucchini Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Mr Sven

I must say I'm surprised to see your negative review, the amount of energy the staff spent on keeping you happy and trying to make your visit a memorable one was in excess of what any casual lunch experience expects.

Your waiter Oliver, who’s soul job for the day was to take just your tables orders and make sure everyone’s needs were met was luckily not in vain, his tips received was more than average thus expressing the general satisfaction with our efforts, the compliments from your fellow guests was in order with our standard of food, except for yours of course. You opted for our “Vegan Chickpea Burger” on home-made bread with sweet potato fries which seemed not to be to your liking, this is very odd to me as our Chickpea Burger has without a doubt a bit of a following, but taste differs and we accept that.

Furthermore when you did not see a wine on our list that satisfied your personal taste you were ushered to the wine shop next door that has a selection of more than 80 South African wines which we offered to serve to you without corkage cost, after being abrupt and dismissive to the sales assistant you stormed out without your specific taste satisfied.

Trip advisor is a public review site, it is meant to be honest and without bias. Unfortunately your score of “Terrible” does not do us justice, the waiters were efficient, effort and attention was given to your table and food was eaten with lust as not one plate returned to the kitchen not being completely devoured.

Then there is the subject of the waiting time for your food, 52 minutes as the computer recorded, I would like to ask you to please consider future visits to other restaurants by actually making a booking for large tables of 14 persons. Doing so the table can be prepared in advance, provisions can be made in the kitchen and everyone can have a great lunch, for the guests and the staff as well.

Sincerely yours
Stephan Henning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food at Zucchini's was extremely tasty and the staff always make a plan to accommodate my vegan needs. They have a way of working wonders with food combinations! The setting is exquisite and the restaurant has a very cosy feel, especially with the fire going in the cold evenings. The staff are polite and easy going. Made a really fun night and lunch time experience! I would definitely make the short trip out of Wilderness town centre to go and enjoy the magic of Zucchini's!

Thank Tarryn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan H, Vegan Meal Planner at Zucchini Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Hello Tarryn

Thank you for your positive feedback, more modern eateries should cater for modern diets, helping you choose the right meal for you is only a pleasure.

Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The restaurant is very good: organic food, well cooked in a mix of South African Asian and European cuisines, very peculiar. The relaxed atmosphere that makes you feel back in California's seventies is amazing, considering you are in mid of South Africa wild.

Thank Picasso68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan H, Owner at Zucchini Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

We really enjoy it when customers appreciate our decor, we would not have a restaurant if we could not make it feel more unique and interesting. Thank you for your compliment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Small menu, but everything prepared with care. Roasted vegetables a speciality, so vegetarians will particularly enjoy this venue.

Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zucchini Restaurant also viewed

 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Zucchini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing