We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class, finest food in Wilderness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Olive Restaurant

Blue Olive Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 26 Restaurants in Wilderness
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilderness Garden route Western Cape South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Class, finest food in Wilderness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

A idyllic setting under the Milkwood trees with a tranquil atmosphere, was the setting for our dinner at the Blue Olive restaurant, with a excellent Wine list and menu we settled into, from entering we felt welcomed. The selection on the Wine list was a excellent choice of South African wines and was offered the Chef's specialty of the day to a good selection on the Menu. Our waitron was well informed friendly, professional and had a good knowledge of South African wines to the selection of our main course, The food was well prepared, well presented, and deliciously made with hands eager to please. A experience at this restaurant was truly remarkable as well as enjoyable and will definitely recommend .a visit to one of the best restaurants in the village with a difference in Wilderness in the heart of the Garden Route.for memories to last a lifetime.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlodge07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    156
    82
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely local place with a really funky vibe and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Recommended by our hosts as a consistent choice! We really liked it - a good choice on the menu with wine at reasonable prices. Loved the atomsphere (lots of little fairy lights outside) and there was a bar attached which seemed quite popular. Service was good and the meal was very good value for money. Would recommend.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank val g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

I have many food intolerances and they were very accomodating in providing a meal that I could enjoy. That does not happen too oftern

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mnunes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

On our way back from George we decided to stop by the Blue Olive for a lazy Sunday afternoon lunch. We were fortunate to have perfect weather and sat outside on one of the balconies. Not packed but enough people to create a vibe. The live entertainment was of a good standard and did not interfere with our conversation. Food was well seasoned and good value for money. A simple yet appealing approach is taken on the presentaion of the food and it works. Front of hourse service and bathroom facilities were also very good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SirKny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

I ate here with my wife and parents on a Sunday lunchtime. We hadn't made a reservation but still managed to get a seat outside during what looked like a fairly busy service.

The food and service was OK but nothing to get excited about. Being a touristy area the price is probably aligned with other restaurants in the area but didn't seem like particularly good value for money.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank webmonkeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Olive Restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Blue Olive Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing