We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking experience for a 5 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shocking experience for a 5 star hotel!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were in the Garden Route for 2 weeks and looked for a nice place to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary. I will forever regret choosing Views "5 star" Hotel for our celebration meal. The waitress was so unprofessional, when taking our drinks and meal order she skipped my order on both rounds and left the table, I had to call her back to take my order. The one meal ordered had to be sent back literally 3 times, as she could not get the order right, the meal was not cooked properly, the fruit came out of a tin (supposed to be a 5 star hotel?); eventually the meal was eaten as she could not understand what we ordered? What a terrible experience and memory. At the rates of accommodation, I sincerely hope the accommodation is at 5 star standard, as their restaurant is most certainly NOT a 5 star experience. I am actually not sure why that hotel has a 5 star rating? I will never step my foot back in that hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamzyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Kindly accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you had to endure as a result of the service deficiencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. It was with sincere regret that we took note of our failure to deliver the standard of services associated with a 5 star establishment and which we work so hard towards delivering to all our guests. All the issues raised have been discussed with the relevant department managers in order to ensure that the relevant action is taken to rectify our shortcomings in this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    71
    37
    11
    11
See reviews for
51
209
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently celebrated our 25th anniversary and my wife's birthday at this boutique hotel . Although we live in Canada now I grew up spending most of my summer holidays on the garden route and I am familiar with the surrounding area . It was however my first visit to this hotel .

What a great experience !! Definitely one of the best experiences we have had in a long time at a hotel . It favourably compares to our Four Seasons stays recently .

The hotel is perfectly situated . The views of the ocean from our "honeymoon suite " was incredible . If you want to "experience " the sea on one of the prettiest coastlines in the world -- you have to visit the Views hotel .

The rooms are beautiful and my wife loved sitting in the bath tub with a sea view . The bathroom is huge and the room has everything you expect from a 5 star property .

The highlight was the personal treatment received from the staff . The front desk staff acted more like personal assistants without being intrusive . Nothing was a problem to them and all requests were promptly dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner . If you like the personal touch -- go to this hotel .

The food in the restaurant was of a good quality. Room service was a delight . No tray fees or "cheap" extras .

The wireless in the hotel is fast and effective .

I can go on and on ... a great spa experience , order a pillow to your liking ... etc .etc

From our reservation to our departure this was one of the best experiences of our travelling life . I certainly would recommend the Views for a romantic break away !!

If you are planning a trip to South Africa and want to visit the Garden route -- do yourself a favor and include a few nights at this gem in your itinerary .

Room Tip: Room 15 -- sea view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back for your 26th anniversary next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our second night along the Garden Route. Wilderness is a small, pretty, spiritual type of place. Lots of great walking. The hotel was perched on the top of a cliff, leading down to a large, empty, sandy beach. You could easily walk along it for 2/3 hours, stopping for a coffee on the way. It is a modern hotel, beautiful rooms and bathrooms and excellent toiletries. The room had a large balcony. We enjoyed a good evening meal with friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable, large bed. There are road works going on, I think for about another year, so beware, entry in and out of the village takes a good 20 minutes or so.

Room Tip: You would want a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyfitzmaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Route again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I LOVED the design of this hotel..not to mention the incredible view down the beach (and paraglider drifting right past our balcony)! At the front desk Monet was a gem. Professional, very helpful & genuinely friendly. The only quibble would be with service in the restaurant. Management needs to provide better training and follow up. Some servers were quite good while others just barely managed. We were a little taken aback by the breakfast server who greeted us with "I'll take care of you so you can take care of ME." We always leave a tip even when the meal is basically self serve. Maybe a "gratuity not included" would be a good addition to the menu. Great spa experience also...go early in your stay because you'll probably want to go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had to endure as a result of the service deficiencies you experienced during your recent stay with us.

All the issues raised have been discussed with the relevant department managers in order to ensure that the relevant action is taken to rectify our shortcomings in this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel, rooms and staff were amazing. Very boutique and amazing decor. Whoever was the interior designer has an amazing eye. Rooms we had were 16 and 16 a. Lovely bright rooms, although view not great. I would definitely stay again purely for the hotel, but would book sea view. As the beach is amazing.
I work for a tour operator in the Uk and would recommend. However go somewhere else to eat. Ordered fish, very bland no taste. Then ordered baked Alaska as dessert. Imagine our horror when it came out without having been baked. Not what you expect of a five star hotel. So very. Disappointed.

Room Tip: Book sea view you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you had to endure as a result of the service deficiencies you experienced during your recent stay with us.

It was with sincere regret that we took note of our failure to deliver the standard of services associated with a 5 star establishment and which we work so hard towards delivering to all our guests.

All the issues raised have discussed with the relevant department managers in order to ensure that the relevant action is taken to rectify our shortcomings in this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel really has the wow factor! It's amazing. The sea views are something else and the staff are really attentive. Food is fab and the rooms are beauftiful. Very modern, classy and spacious. Ask for sea view !

Room Tip: Sea view is the best room view but the rooms are fab and so too are staff. So doesnt really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon in November 2012. Apart from a few small 'niggles', the overall experience was fantastic. Very friendly staff, beautiful room with amazing sea view, welcome drink in arrival and also a bottle of champagne and some delicious prawns on settling into our room. The location is spectacular overlooking a long sandy beach and the hotel facilities such as the rooftop deck was amazing. The only two slight downsides were that there did not seem to be many people staying at the hotel while we were there which meant that there was a slightly unusual atmosphere and a slight eerie feeling to the place for example the bars on the roof deck were closed and we were the only ones up there. Perhaps this was just because if the time of year we visited and I suppose it is called Wilderness for a reason! The restaurant was also not in full swing at the time but that just gave us the opportunity to visit some of the great restaurants close by. Overall a fantastic experience and we would highly recommend this hotel. Hope to return again some day if we make it back to South Africa!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctord_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
2.4 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
657 reviews
12.2 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
42 reviews
2.4 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Views Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Views Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: South Street, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Views Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warm Indian Ocean waters playing at its feet, VIEWS Boutique Hotel & Spa is an idyllic paradise from which to unlock the secrets of South Africa's famed Garden Route. Perfectly situated, on a beach front dune on Wilderness Beach, offering panoramic beach and ocean views, a mere 20 minutes from George Airport. All 22 suites offer 5 star qualities ranging from both sea and mountain facing Deluxe to romantic Honeymoon suite, culminating in the stunning Penthouse Suite. All rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows, bathrooms have under-floor heating, heated towel rails, a private WC, a separate bath and shower and indulgent amenities. Enjoy fine cuisine in our Restaurant, or relax around our roof top pool & cocktail deck with uninterrupted ocean views. Alternatively, find solace and relaxation in our award winning Views Spa & Gym offering 4 treatment rooms, a Tylarium Herbal Sauna, Vitality Pool and Moroccan-style Rasul Chamber and a wide range of cardiovascular equipment. Whether it is a wedding, a honeymoon or a special occasion, Views offers personalized service, unabashed luxury and elegance catering to the needs of the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Views Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Views Boutique Hotel And Spa
Views Boutique Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing