We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
303
102
48
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
102
48
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa sea view roomgarden routelives up to its nameamazing hotelsteam roomour honeymoonocean frontlarge showerthe penthousedolphins swimmingindian oceansmall hotelfantastic roomsaw dolphinsstar establishmentthe clifffour nights
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 482 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you are in South Africa and traveling along the Garden Route, the Views Hotel must be an essential stop over for you. Literally just off the N2 you enter another world when you arrive at the hotel reception. The open plan nature of the building gives a great sense of light and airiness, but that is just the start.
The rooms are extremely well appointed, very spacious and comfortable.
Being perched literally on the edge of a cliff, the sea views are spectacular. If you want to chill out and take a break from driving sit on the roof top sun deck, sip a cool drink and watch the para gliders take off into the wind 50 m below you as they soar effortlessly into the sky accompanied only by roar of the waves crashing on the rocks 150m below. For evening dining there is a choice of a plush dining room or an outdoor terrace, both overlooking the sea.
The town of Wilderness is quite small but has lots of interesting small shops and cafes. Lots of wooden products. If you are a fan of old timer cars do not miss the chance to visit the dealer located on the N2 just east of the town.
The hotel is not cheap by any standards but well worth the money for that extra special visit to the amazing country that is South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a stunning modern small hotel with a quirky shape to it. Our room overlooked the beach and sea with massive floor to ceiling windows, and a view through them even from the bath! But beware of the sudden appearance of close-flying paragliders who launch from the open area adjoining the hotel - they could catch you in the all-together! Restaurant 'nice' but not brilliant (instead, head down to the town to The Girls). Very attentive and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had arranged to spend the last 2 nights of our holiday here. Our room had been booked for us but when I looked the reviews realised we had been given a mountain facing room. I emailed the agent who then upgraded us to a sea view room. When we walked into the room it was a real 'WOW' factor, everything about it including the bathroom. Then whilst looking out the window a paraglider went by our balcony so close I could almost have touched him!! This must be one of the most stunning positions of any Hotel. There were not too many guests staying so the service in the restaurants was not too much of a problem. I would have loved a week at least here. Staff were polite and helpful. My husband tried to go paragliding but the wind dropped and we were then out of time. Will have to go back just so that he can try it!

Room Tip: This is a hotel where a sea facing room is a must.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The views of the ocean are breathtaking and Views has a fabulous location with much to recommend it but, with a little thought, it could be so much better.
It appears that there has been significant investment in building the hotel to a very high spec, but very little consideration as to how to ensure that it "feels" like a luxury hotel.
We had rooms 16 and 16A (for the children) which were great... except for the view - our fault for not specifying ocean view, but it really makes a difference and the balcony overlooking the car park/petrol station was pretty redundant.
However, we were on the same level as the pool deck/games room which had great views of the ocean and was mostly empty...but there were never any staff to maintain the ambience, which meant that there were always dirty towels, dirty crockery/cutlery etc. piled up by early afternoon - not as relaxing as it could be.
I would echo the comments about the restaurants - breakfast was OK but the room felt "tired" and choice was nothing compared to other hotels we stayed at in SA. Sails was poor - choice, service, quality, atmosphere - and once was more than enough.
In summary, Views is not bad but not where it could be with more management effort.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view, as opposed to mountain (car park/petrol station) view!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CBH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at a nearby hotel and went to Views for dinner. We booked in advance wich was good as the restaurant was fully booked (but there were empty tables in a ramble outside at the terrace).

Service was ok, but slow. The food took ages to come and was ok, but not was was in the menu. We waited one and a half hour for our starter (that was not at all what we thought it would be) and then the main course came in at 21.45 (we had booked our table at 19.30).

With so many restaurants in Wilderness, this place should be a last option. I will never go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tichaona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews