We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable birthday meal at this gem”

Serendipity Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Chef Lizelle and team went out of their way to make this a very special birthday dinner, including personalised card and candle. We enjoyed a divine 5 course affair including amuse bouche and palate cleansers. The white port infused with lemon welcome drink was such a highlight. I loved my red roman with holandaise sauce. The atmosphere is intimate, decor classy and service excellent. Highly recommended!

Thank piket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsabe44, Owner at Serendipity Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for kind words.

We just love to cook for special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries. It gives us the opportunity to display South Africa’s wealth of culinary gems mostly unknown to the world and to showcase this in a unique and innovative way.

Lizelle & Rudolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 390 of 593 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I live an hours drive from the restaurant and although it is an effort for us to get to Serendipity it has always been worth it. The ambiance let you feel welcome and at home.
The menu is very interesting and sounds delicious. There is always two starters, two or three main courses and two desserts to choose from, as well as some in between stuff that is delicious.
If you want to treat yourself to delicious food that you will be unable to cook yourself, Serendipity is the restaurant to visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kitesurfer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsabe44, Owner at Serendipity Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for the review.

We strive to be a restaurant creating exceptional experiences of South African hospitality and haute cuisine in an ambient environment.

Rudolf and Lizelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I always love a 3 - 5 course menu with a choice of 2 dishes, but only if the restaurant is really good and rates as fine dining. From the moment we were greeted at the door on our arrival, until we departed, we were made to feel welcome. The service was really good and our waiter had a very good knowledge of wines and the foods being served. Although it was just Mike & I, and one other couple with whom we chatted over pre-dinner cocktails, the restaurant was still warm & cozy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GPWfmPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsabe44, Owner at Serendipity Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for the review.
We are tremendously proud of the professionalism of our co-workers in the kitchen who are professionally trained by one of the leading culinary schools in South Africa.
Lizelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was recommended and is somewhere we would not hesitate to recommend too. Bookings are taken for 7 o'clock but we were late and it was not a problem. We were whisked into a lounge, offered drinks and then had the menu explained. After drinks we were taken to the dining room and enjoyed an amazing 5 course meal. All local produce, I believe, and vegetarians are catered for.

Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

A beautiful restaurant. I have rarely experienced such good service. The food also was sublime

Thank kengreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendipity Restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Serendipity Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing